lost 8 gb??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2003, 12:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 6
Default lost 8 gb???

umm... my computer has a 10 gb hard drive currently in it. i reformated it a week ago and ever since then, the hard drive has been reading as 1.99 gb.. how do i fix it? do i need a driver? do i need to update anything?

there is something on my c: drive propertys about drive comression. the c: drive was not comressed with 1.99 gb so i compressed it. nothing happened so i uncompressed it. it still has 1.99 gb

any help would be greatly apreciated

Mike
__________________

mike_86_68 is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 01:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 6
Default

The OS is Windows 98.

my motherboard is a Columbia Mboard w/intel 440BX chipset
whatever that means...
i was not able to find the motherboard in the device manager. i didnt know where to look. i dont think it is partitioned. unless it is a hidden drive, which i had the option to do when i compressed the c: drive.


.......................
__________________

mike_86_68 is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 01:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 6
Default

so... i ran fdisk in dos and found some intreasting stuff
i went into setup or something... cant remember BUT
it displayed

Partition - c: 1
Status - A
type - PRI DOS
volume label - WINDOWS
Mbytes - 2047
System - fat16
Usage 20% which would explain the other 8 gb
Total disk space is 10299 Mbytes

so... that is what it said
how do i make it say usage - 100 %???
mike_86_68 is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 03:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

you are using the wrong filing system for your purpose. fat16 supports up to 2GB maximum partitions, you screwed up the partitions when you used fdisk.

you should remake your partition from scratch and start all over except this time use fat32. remember to save all your data first. partition magic may be able to fix it but i would not recommend it in your case. learn from your mistakes.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 02:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 107
Default

Ok remember when you go in to fdisk make sure you hit yes you want to enable large disk support. or else with will make your disk size a max of 2 gigs and will format it in fat16 when you go to format instead of what it should be fat32
__________________
~bhoney
bhoney is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 11:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 6
Default

GRRRRRRR...

a little late bhoney.....

i just formated and EVERYTING
and i said no to the whole yes thing
now it is fat16 AND 1.99 GIGS

but now i can do it... YET AGAIN
i will say yes this time...
well.. here i go
i will keep you posted



Mike M
mike_86_68 is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 12:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 6
Default

about 3 hours later...

FAT32 AND 10 GIGS!!!!
WOO HOO!

thanks guys
mike_86_68 is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 12:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 107
Default

no problem congrats on getting it working finally!
__________________

__________________
~bhoney
bhoney is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.