Loss of IEEE1394 Connection - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2004, 01:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Default Loss of IEEE1394 Connection

I have a Toshiba Satellite Notebook with a IEEE1394 port running on Windows XP. I was using it to transfer video one day and the computer failed and needed to be restarted. Now the computer does not seem to recognize when anything has been plugged into the port. Both my videocamera and my mp3 player still recognize that they have been plugged into the port, but the devices do not appear on the desktop or connect with any programs... Can anybody help?
__________________

xchris is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 02:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Your drivers might have become corrupted if there was a crash. Check under your device manager for a yellow exclamation point for troubleshooting. Is the port displayed under your connectins?
If not, you may try a fresh install. Delete the port either from your device manager or from the add/remove hardware and reboot. Your computer will redetect it and install a fresh set of drivers.
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 09:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Tried that already... same problem.
xchris is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 09:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

make sure you check in your bios if it somehow got disabled ... dunno how that wud happen but worth a try checking lol
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 11:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Default

I tried all that. I've replaced the drivers and done system restores and all that other stuff, but nothing seems to work. The strange thing is that the devices (my videocamera and my mp3 player) both recognize that they have been plugged into the port, but the computer doesn't recognize them being plugged in, even though the drivers have been completely updated and the system says that the port is running perfectly...
xchris is offline  
Old 09-21-2004, 04:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

what about the reader drivers for those devices? they probably came with a cd.. did u try reinstalling those?
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-21-2004, 11:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Default

No CD. The port is built into the computer (laptop).
__________________

xchris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.