Loose AC plug-in - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2006, 03:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default Loose AC plug-in

Hey... I find when I plug my computer in, the connector attatched to the motherboard is very loose. It's almost seperated and it has to be in a certain spot for it to work correctly... Also it gets really hot. No idea why. Can I get that fixed or will I need a new motherboard?? Thanks.
__________________

Vivid48 is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 07:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Buy a new power cable for $5, and try again.

If that fails, then you need to clean your power supply for dust, or buy a new one.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 08:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
Buy a new power cable for $5, and try again.

If that fails, then you need to clean your power supply for dust, or buy a new one.
...I think he's referring to the ATX power connector that plugs onto the motherboard, not the PSU's power adapter .

In that case, you'd either have to know where and how to remove and re-wire an ATX connector yourself...or perhaps the most easy thing to do, buy a new PSU.

You say it's Almost seperated...how do you mean? Like the cables are coming loose from the connector?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 05:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

pictures speak a thousand words
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.