Looks just like someone is shaking it vigoriously - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2005, 03:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Default Looks just like someone is shaking it vigoriously

Hi, I have a Sony Vaio PCG-GRX570 with a unique problem. Very sporatically the screen begins to go haywire with lines, squares, and whatever else you can think of. It's almost as if someone were shaking the screen. Eventually, the screen becomes unreadable. Sometimes the laptop even shuts off as if to say, hey I got a problem and need to shut off. The oddest thing is that I can pick it up and reboot it a few hours or sometimes even minutes later and it works fine.

1 thing I can definetely rule out is the monitor. While this was happening one time, I plugged in an external monitor and the external monitor showed the same thing at the same time as my LCD screen.

Also I will add that I do hear the CPU fan working and I have had problems even from a cold startup.

Can you shed any light on this?

Thanks in advance.
__________________

duugg is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 03:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 61
Default

It sounds like the your laptop may be overheating. That would explain why after it's been off for a while and cools off it works just fine.
__________________

__________________
BUM+ Certified
g-unit is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 03:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Loose graphics card in the laptop, if it's an upgradable card (in a slot). If not, the graphics chip is screwed up.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 03:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Default

g-unit

Forgot to add that I do hear the CPU fan working and I have had problems even from a cold startup.

Thanks
duugg is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 03:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Sledge Hammer + $$$ = New Laptop
HAVOC is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 04:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

I have a crt monitor and when I have a fan on by it the screen shakes.
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 04:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sevoma
I have a crt monitor and when I have a fan on by it the screen shakes.
\

CRT shakes are VERY different and are fine, that's the magnets in the fan causing your "shakes"

Your graphics are messed sorry to say, if your chip has a decicated graphics card you can just replace it, and if it's intergrated you have to replace you rmotherboard
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 09:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

Hopefully it is still under warranty, and you can take it in for service. if not, you may want to spring for a check-up, and let them tell you what it would cost to repair it.

It may be cheaper or more cost effective to replace it. But I would let a certified tech check it out first.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 10:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Is there some site out there that shows step by step on how to take apart my specific laptop to check and potentially replace loose things like the graphics card or a bad ram slot like someone else mentioned to me?

Do I need special tools to do this?
duugg is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 11:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 135
Default

probably google a flat head screwdriver and a phillips screw driver lol.

HAVOC2k5:

why not just use a pentium m based on the dothan core (i suggest waiting as there is a new line of pms comming out) the pentium ms are better than an athlon 64 fx-55 from what we are getting from some benchmarks.
__________________

Panther5060 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.