Looking to switch - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2005, 10:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Arrow Looking to switch

After reading up on AMD I'm pretty much ready to switch over, because they look better for the long run.
My question is this, which AMD processor is comparable to my 2.66/533/512? I dont want the latest and greatest FX series, because they cost too much. Im looking for a little step up. If you could point me in the right direction, that would be great.

Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 10:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

For a pretty big step up in performance for a reasonable price, I would suggest a AMD Athlon 64 3000+ on socket 939.


Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 10:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976

All depends on how much money you're willing to spend... If you're going with AMD 64, then make sure it's socket 939, as the older socket 754's don't support dual channel memory....
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 11:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530

Sure but I would say more importantly than that they dont make new 754's, so in the future you would not be able to upgrade. Whereas with a 939 you can get a 3000 or somethin, and then get an FX in a few years when they're cheap.
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 11:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool

I'm looking to spend less than 200.

Wow Gaara, a 1.8ghz, It just seems weird dropping down that far, but I suppose raw mhz doesn' t matter anymore.
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 01:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584

I think that the max reached was 4 ghz, and they actually had a little bit downgrade of performance at 4ghz.

Ghz is a billion cycles per second; AMD is just more efficent per clock cycle, from what I understand.
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 01:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman

Get an AMD Mobile Athlon XP 2600+ and an Abit NF7S version 2 that will overclock very well and be around the equivalent of a 3.6ghz P4 Prescott with HT. Mine actually beats the prescott in some tests. Here are the links

Abit NF7S v2- http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...127-166&depa=0

CPU- http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-436&depa=0

You will need a solid hsf since it doesn't come with one- http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...106-037&depa=0

This will just go a tad over $200 but an AMD at 2.4ghz is very very fast. Mine is at 2.5 and I can still go a bit higher. I'm recommending the 2600 mobile since I hear it actually is a bit better than the 2400 when overclocking. 2.4 AMD ghz is roughly 3.4-3.6 Intel Ghz.
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 02:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 189

I suggest you look for a mobo/cpu bundle . Sometimes you can save alot of money.

geekster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.