Longing for dual screen set-up. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2005, 07:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default Longing for dual screen set-up.

Hewwo, all. I am new to the PC forum world. I am in the middle of building a PC and have most of my parts decided. I want to make it a dual screen set-up. I have heard that I MUSt have a graphics card that would provide this capability. Is this true? I would like to go with an nVidia Quadro FX 4500, but I am not sure if it has the capability to provide dual screen. Is there a way for the motherboard to help provide this if it has it's own monitor connectors?

Here is my current set-up, percieving no major changes in idea:

Motherboard: Tyan Thunder K8QW (S4881) with (M4881) expansion board.

CPUs: One for now. AMD Opteron 270 2.0 GHz Dual Core

RAM: For now. 4GB DDR SDRAM PC2700 (333) ECC Registered DualChannel

HDDs: For now. One 10GB 7200 RPM for OS, one 80GB 7200 RPM for programs, one 160GB 10,000 RPM for data.

PSU/UPS: dual 550W EPS12V/basic UPS

Case: CoolerMasters CM Stacker 830 w/Side Window panel

Other compnents to be decided.
__________________

velvet leopard is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 07:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

If it has 2 connectors, it does dual screen. I think virtually all of the quadro's do

And why such the server beast computer, what are you using it for?
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 07:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I agree. I don't see many guys crankin out personal computers with all that server equipment.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 07:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Well, I guess I will have to check with the manufacturer about the 4500. This pics only showed the S-Video and one monitor connection. As for why I would invest in such a "server beast computer", Tyan's Thunder K8QW is a server/workstation board. I aim to build a workstation geared toward massive 3D Animation and other highly intense audio/video operations. I love the K8QW's new HyperTransport system as oppossed to the generic FSB system. It is faster and more efficient with ultra-low latency. Also, I am going to be using this thing for big time programming. Maybe even video game programming. I am currently a student at MSU working towards a Computer Science major. (Entering Freshman)
velvet leopard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.