A long and sad tale. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2005, 03:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

PSU problem, Then you have temperature issues.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
over the past 2 months they've gone to absolute crap..
Psht try the last few years dude.

Quote:
That graphics card is pretty anemic, too. It may just be getting blown out of the water,
Highly doubt it. I have two friends with the 9600XT, one with the 128mb other with the 256mb, they can handle HL2 just fine.

Quote:
ATLEAST - 24A on your +12V rail,
Unless you're running SLI with tons of other hardware, a minimum of 20a will be more than sufficient for that setup.

You need to go into the BIOS or use motherboard monitor 5 and monitor your voltages. If you see your +12v line dropping to like 11.5v and below, then yes you need a much stronger PSU with +12v rail, same goes for the others, if the +3.3 is even down at 3v or the +5v is below 4.7v then your PSU is being over taxed by quite a bit.

If your numbers are like this:

+3.33
+4.96
+11.95

then your PSU is right on, and is not being taxed beyond it's capabilities, up to 5% fluctuation is normal, if it hits 5% or exceeds it, is when you start having probs

An Athlon 2600+ XP running at 53C is completely normal, especially for stock heatsink, so all these posts about 'Its overheating' simply arent true...I've had a hotter XP with stock heatsink thats still running strong to this day. I assume it'll hit near 60C on full load, which technically it can handle, but I would indeed suggest in better case flow, colder room in the house, better heatsink or all of the above.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 10:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Default

At the moment on idle the temps look like this.
+12v = 12.224
+5v = 4.919
+3.3v = 3.312

CPU = 52 c
craig46 is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 12:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Psht try the last few years dude.
was he talking about AMD?
if he was, tell him to look at Intel's 600 series benchmarks. the 3.73 EE got outperformed by the 500 series 3.4 EE and even the 3.2 non-EE at times!
if anything, Intel have done worse on their 600 series CPU's. the only good thing is the reduction in power consumption

Quote:
Highly doubt it. I have two friends with the 9600XT, one with the 128mb other with the 256mb, they can handle HL2 just fine.
hell yeah, I've even seen Doom 3 run on an FX-5200

anyway, did you do a repair-install of XP after replacing the motherboard? (assuming you did)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 01:07 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
was he talking about AMD?
He was talking about ASUS boards, unless you're talking about intel or AMD specific ASUS board.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 01:45 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

oh okay, well Asus are still pretty good, even though they are not as good as they were
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 02:45 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol you should know he wasn't talking about AMD's quality going down hill because I wouldn't have said 'try a couple years ago dude' if he was talkin about AMD


ahh freakin cut my finger with a razor blade about an hour ago, hurts to type lol
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 03:50 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

why were you using a razor blade?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 04:01 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse


anyway, did you do a repair-install of XP after replacing the motherboard? (assuming you did)
Yes.... completely fresh install with my newly bought Win XP Pro!
craig46 is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 04:11 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
why were you using a razor blade?
Was trying to peel off the multiple layers of my old drivers license
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.