LONG lockups while playing games on 6800Ultra - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2005, 06:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default LONG lockups while playing games on 6800Ultra

Hello!
For some reason everytime I play a game I encounter frequent lockups which last for at least 8-10 seconds. They happen frequently. My setup is in my sig so you can see what I have and could be contributing. I tried to latest driver release and also the current beta drviers. Both have the same issue. I also went through 3 power supplies (on a side not my bad luck worked and somehow the one that was supposed to be the weakest PSU pushed the most on the 12v rail ). The temperatures on the card are also not high. I really do not know what to do. I really finally want to start using this computer for gaming. I didn't pay $1900 to surf the internet (could have used the crap I got in my basement for that)....
Thanks for any help.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\" color=\"red\"><strong>My specs:</strong>
AMD Athlon 64 3500 Winchester
MSI Neo2 Platinum NForce3 Ultra
2GB Corsair XMS Ram
520W Aspire Triple Fan PSU
GeForce 6800 Ultra
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
10,000 RPM 74GB Raptor
120GB Maxtor
Princeton 17\' DVI Monitor
Logitech Cordless Duo MX
Creative P7800 7.1 Speakers
AOpen DVD Dual Layer recorder
</font>
Person is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 11:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

what do you have running in the backround while playing these games
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 11:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Are you playing these games online? Or single-player offline?
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 11:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default

What game are you talking about ? and have you updated the nforce drivers? goto nvidia.com and compare the version of nforce drives with the ones you have and see if they need updateing . I know nvidia did some performance increases for the nforce 3 chipsets.
__________________
Athlon 64 2800+ clawhammer 512 kb
MSI k8t neo mobo
MSI 6600 gt
samsung 512 mb pc 3200
WD 80 gig ata100 7200 rpm
Onboard sound / realtek 5.1 based sound
7 year old cheap *** 17\" monitor but looks great , im surprised its still running , its bin through 5 computers so far.
RangerXero is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 02:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default

I got nothing running in the background (except the bare minimum). One of the reason I built this new computer is that I wouldn't have to take care of all the crap my family bombed my old comp with (stupid programs and such that eat resources) .
I'm playing Everquest2 and UT2004. I know everquest 2 has problems with the Geforce 6 line right now but my problem is not like everyone's that experiences stutter. I don't really play any offline games right now but 3d Mark 2003 has the same problem so I don't think it is anything network related.
I'll go update the nForce drivers now, didn't think of that .
__________________
<font size=\"1\" color=\"red\"><strong>My specs:</strong>
AMD Athlon 64 3500 Winchester
MSI Neo2 Platinum NForce3 Ultra
2GB Corsair XMS Ram
520W Aspire Triple Fan PSU
GeForce 6800 Ultra
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
10,000 RPM 74GB Raptor
120GB Maxtor
Princeton 17\' DVI Monitor
Logitech Cordless Duo MX
Creative P7800 7.1 Speakers
AOpen DVD Dual Layer recorder
</font>
Person is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 02:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 91
Default

A 6800 is a lot of money, you would definately want nothing but the best from your pc after paying for one!
Keaton is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 04:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Have you got your chipset drivers? as when I didnt have the up to date ones, it caused a jumping frame rate.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 07:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default

Unfortunately I had to submit an RMA. I tried everything I could think of. I called the eVGA tech support and the guy told me to submit an RMA. Stupid shipping shipping charges...
__________________
<font size=\"1\" color=\"red\"><strong>My specs:</strong>
AMD Athlon 64 3500 Winchester
MSI Neo2 Platinum NForce3 Ultra
2GB Corsair XMS Ram
520W Aspire Triple Fan PSU
GeForce 6800 Ultra
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
10,000 RPM 74GB Raptor
120GB Maxtor
Princeton 17\' DVI Monitor
Logitech Cordless Duo MX
Creative P7800 7.1 Speakers
AOpen DVD Dual Layer recorder
</font>
Person is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 07:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

While you are waiting, update all of your drivers (BIOS, motherboard, monitor...everything).

Best to cover all of the bases...

And watch your language.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 07:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default

I'm sorry about my language but I've had so many problems already that having to wait much more is simply not an option . I was never good with patience...
Those problems have cost me about $80 in additional shipping charges already.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\" color=\"red\"><strong>My specs:</strong>
AMD Athlon 64 3500 Winchester
MSI Neo2 Platinum NForce3 Ultra
2GB Corsair XMS Ram
520W Aspire Triple Fan PSU
GeForce 6800 Ultra
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
10,000 RPM 74GB Raptor
120GB Maxtor
Princeton 17\' DVI Monitor
Logitech Cordless Duo MX
Creative P7800 7.1 Speakers
AOpen DVD Dual Layer recorder
</font>
Person is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.