long black screen on bootup once?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2005, 10:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 93
Default long black screen on bootup once??

well.. i turned on the comp and it went past the post and the windows xp logo then it was a black screen for ages.,,

i restarted the comp and it didnt do it.. the computer was fine.. why is this?

salami1212 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 10:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

probably just a random freeze. if it hangs anywhere during boot for no apparent reason this is the most likely place

Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 11:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
majistic's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434

I have had that happen before, but it didn't lock up. I just let it set for about 10 minutes and it finally caught up with itself. This was right after I built it. But that is good it doesn't do it anymore.
majistic is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 12:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499

When Windows does that, its to distract you while Bill Gates sneaks in your room and takes a few more dollars out of your wallet.
Microsoft states that they won't take anymore as long as you buy Longhorn when it comes out.
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 01:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby

could be a keyboard issue. It will sit and wait for the keyboard for a certain length of time. Happens mostly with usb keyborads though.

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.