Logitech X230 Trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2006, 02:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35
Default Logitech X230 Trouble

Ok, so I bought these speakers because of their good prices and reviews.

They arrived today and I hastily unwrapped them and as I was downstairs I teseted them in my laptop by plugging them into the headphone socket and they worked wonderfully and the sound sounded great.

So then I take them upsstairs to connect to my desktop computer. I plug in the subwoofer place the speakers on my desk and plug the green headed cable from the main speaker into the green slot in the back of my case. My motherboard is the Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe.

Whenever I hover the cable near those plugs the speakers hum and buzz. However they do not work.

There are two slots on the front of my casee, one with an icon of headphones, however the speakers dont buzz if I hold it near them or work. . .

Any ideas
Sorry if its a silly problem
__________________

TicTac2 is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 03:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

check the audio manager for your sound. I assume you are using the onboard realtec sound. they have settings in there for different types of speakers. set it to the type you have ie 2.1 5.1 of headphones etc. When you set it up to your speaker types it will show you which plug to plug it into. Have you used speakers with this sytem before?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 04:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35
Default

Yes I am using the realtec sound.
I selected the 2CH option under the speaker conifuration tab.

I put the connecter in the green slot and it says thats connected correctly but seems to have something else it expects to connect in the 'line in' it seems which is the blue slot.

Any ideas on this?

EDIT: And yes these are the first speakers with this computer. I fear that maybe I do not know about the speaker configuration or sound cards. I bought the computer from the following option: (well very similar, I managed to get a few parts not listed in the upgrade part)

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/3700-AMD64-San...QQcmdZViewItem

Soundcard 7.1 on board - 8 channel

That seems to be the sound card, does thi affect anything?
TicTac2 is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 04:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35
Default

I am still getting no sound from my Logitech X230 speakers. My FP_Audio connector has nothing plugged into it so I think this it the problem.

The manual says 'connect one end of the front panel audio I/O module cable to this connector.'

What is the cable and where I would have it from?

If I havent done this in enough detail tell me, and I will expand.

Thanks for any help!
TicTac2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.