locking clip broke off 24-pin connector on psu. what to do now? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2006, 07:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 367
Default locking clip broke off 24-pin connector on psu. what to do now?

So I just got my OCZ modstream 520watt psu today, and there was a warning sticker zip-tyed to the 20/24 pin mobo connector. I took a knife and cut it off but accidentally also cut off the clip that locks onto the mobos socket. It sticks in the socket pretty well without it, but what should I do now? Is it safe to leave it, should I reaturn it for a new one, or try to epoxy it back on? My guess is its not sae without it, but I just want some clarification.

also, a bit offtopic but o well. got my dgi lanparty mobo as well, and there is a molex connector on the mobo. Ive never seen this on a mobo before, and is it necessary? like do I need to plug a molex cable into it? just curious, dont want to fubard up my new mobo becuase I forgot to plug in a cable.
__________________

__________________
Setup no longer here.... need new one....
xenium is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 10:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it will be fine as long as there isn't tension in the cable pulling it out of the socket. the molex connector (there is also a floppy connector you may not have noticed) is not necessary, it just provides extra voltage stability when using high drain expansion cards such as high powered graphics cards or for overclocking.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 10:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 367
Default

ok, im most likely going to run a 7600gt or 7900gt (if I have enough money) so would either need the extra voltage?
__________________
Setup no longer here.... need new one....
xenium is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 10:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

just plug them in they can't hurt man
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 10:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 367
Default

true, thanx
__________________
Setup no longer here.... need new one....
xenium is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 07:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
little_emmynem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: India BOMBAY
Posts: 155
Send a message via Yahoo to little_emmynem
Default

i say that buy a new SMPS as loosening of wires may lead to Other HW problems such as damage of motherboard, PCI Slots and any installed devices
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 2.00 GHZ
ASUS P5LD2 -VM Motherboard
SEAGATE FreeAgent Pro 500GB External HDD
SEAGATE Barracuda 160 GB SATA 7200 RPM
NVIDIA GeForce 8 Series - 8500GT 256MB
ASUS lightscribe Dual-layer DVD burner
SAMSUNG DVD/CD-RW Combo Drive
SAMSUNG 17" LCD/TFT Monitor
SAMSUNG ml-1610 Monochrome Printer
SONY MD RECIEVER
iBall iTower Cabinet with 400W ATX SMPS
TRANSEND 2x1 GB DDR2 667 MHZ RAM
little_emmynem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.