A little help would be appreciated - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2005, 10:57 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Sorry to hear you think im a joke.

Maybe this place wasnt the place to ask for help, I just wondered because my friend suggested this place for advice.

Anyway if this is spyware, is there anything I can do about it? Will Mwav help?


Also im using a friends email address for this account. When I get my pc running where do i get one of my own?

Im a bit worried about being taken for a ride reguarding my pc purchase. I was advised that intel were a well performing company.


If it really is that bad what do you suggest to replace it? I dont want to spend much more money where I can help it.

Thank you all, even the ones who laugh.

I bet i sound a bit new, but we were all new once wernt we not?
__________________

evil_DEED is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 11:10 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

No worries man... Just that when u said u ran Half Life 2 on your computer, it just raised some eyebrows . If your grandson knows about the existence of HL2, he should also know of the requirements to run it! That's why I was wondering if u were playing a joke on us. Didn't mean to offend if u really are an old grandpa..

Quote:
Anyway if this is spyware, is there anything I can do about it? Will Mwav help?
You can download anti spyware programs and anti virus programs and run it. But, if u are someone inexpereinced at this, perhaps, doing a clean format and reinstall might be easier. Then just ensure that u don't download anything except from trusted websites. Even if there are messages saying "download this".

Quote:
Also im using a friends email address for this account. When I get my pc running where do i get one of my own?
yahoo.com, hotmail.com - and can sign up for a new account. Your internet provider will also give you free accounts when you sign up.

Quote:
Im a bit worried about being taken for a ride reguarding my pc purchase. I was advised that intel were a well performing company.
Intel is a great company. So is AMD. These are the leaders of making CPUs for home computers. Just that your CPU is VERY old.. It's like buying a old Honda 1987 model for the price of a 1999 model. It used to be a good CPU - not anymore. Your other components are also ancient. Like the vid card.

Quote:
If it really is that bad what do you suggest to replace it? I dont want to spend much more money where I can help it.
I don't know the conversation rate of british pounds. But it's higher than USD. WIth 250 pounds u should be able to get a new computer. So you'll end up paying more money. You'll probably be able to get maybe 20 pounds for the system you have.
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 11:34 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Thank you very much I will look into all the options you have told me about. Like I have probably mentioned I am incredibly new and not really sure what anything is but ive gathered I made a bad buy and that spyware isnt a good thing.


Do any of you know what I should be looking for? I talked to my grandson and yes he does want to run halflife though he informs me he didnt manage to egt much further than installation, so obviously I need to get some better gear, a pentium 2 perhaps?


Anyway, I thank you for your advice, and bid you all a good day.
evil_DEED is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 11:36 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Keep that PC for another ten years, and you'll be a millionaire! It's going to be an antique!
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 02:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Definitely atleast a Pentium 4 man .. Or alternatively, as many people on this forum would tell u, an AMD would be even better for computer games. But since I am sure u don't know how to build a system and don't want to spent too much money, u can go down to ur local computer store, get the parts and have them build it for u.

If u are on the small budget side, why don't u try a AMD 3000+, with a 9800 pro, and 512 mb of RAM? Should be relatively cheap if u buy components that are not good for overclocking. Which u prolly won't do.

A 6600 GT is recommended over a 9800 pro if u have the money (better bang for the buck). But, u'll save a few bucks with the latter. And u can play HL2 with a 9800 pro for sure. I know my friend does. Plays well.
Chankama is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 03:35 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Is their any way you can get your money back?

You can get a pc like 100x faster than that one, for the same amount of money that 75mhz cost you, you can pretty easily get a 2800mhz one


Okay, just 37.3333 X faster
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 03:54 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

All I have to say is LOL, his specs are so funny. Go out and buy a really cheap comp for like $299 from Dell.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 04:47 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

i'm surprized that HL2 even INSTALLED on that thing! infact, i doubt it did. your hard drive is no where near big enough for it. with a 75MHz computer, your looking at a 500MB hard disk at most. you really need to buy a new computer, ESPECIALLY if someone plans to run non-DOS games on it.
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.