little help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2005, 10:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Exclamation little help

with my new video card, of course there is a little program to OC it... well not so much to OC it but just to tune it up a bit... there is 2 settings, one for core clock and one for memory clock. the core clock is set at default 300 and the memory is set to a default of 1000. Any ideas of what i should set it to, to see some a little improvement?
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 10:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 143
Default

Get a program called coolbits to unlock your card

Recommended settings will be around 340 and 1200
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2.4Ghz \"Winchester\" 939 pin
Asus A8V Deluxe rev 2.0 Bios 1010.003
2x 512 3200 Corsair Twin XMS Dual Channel
120GB 7200rpm Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9 2MB cache
160GB 7200rpm Seagate Barracuda SATA 8MB Cache Configured for RAID 0+1
Chaintec Geforce 6800 @ 411Mhz Core, 877 Mhz memory
Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
MSI DVD ROM
MSI CD-RW
450Watt PSU
17inch Samsung monitor
Rayne is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 10:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

to unlock my card? i can already adjust it.. or so i think? anyway, why you recommend those settings?
__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 10:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rayne
Get a program called coolbits to unlock your card

Recommended settings will be around 340 and 1200
nonono, he has a 6600gt!

i'd like to see THAT operate at 340/1200

btw go on guru3d.com and download coolbits 2 and select manual overclocking after u dl'd it and go to "detect optimal frequency and it'll operate at your optimal frequency

since it's a new card, i really don't see a poitn in OCing

if you are, i suggest you detect the optimal frequency and drag it down a little
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 11:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

i dont wanna OC it i was just wondering what would be good settings to put it at? or shall i just leave it?
__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 11:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

i think that there is a button to automaticaly find the best frequency for it to operate it at.

I have a 6600GT and I unlocked coolbits. I used the automatic thingy and it overclocked itself from 500 to 565
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 11:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

the "smart tune" puts it to 500 core clock... should that be safe?
__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 11:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lasrix
the "smart tune" puts it to 500 core clock... should that be safe?
500 is default

IMO, you should just leave it at default
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 11:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 143
Default

Why does my 6800 get unstable higher than 415 for the core then?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2.4Ghz \"Winchester\" 939 pin
Asus A8V Deluxe rev 2.0 Bios 1010.003
2x 512 3200 Corsair Twin XMS Dual Channel
120GB 7200rpm Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9 2MB cache
160GB 7200rpm Seagate Barracuda SATA 8MB Cache Configured for RAID 0+1
Chaintec Geforce 6800 @ 411Mhz Core, 877 Mhz memory
Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
MSI DVD ROM
MSI CD-RW
450Watt PSU
17inch Samsung monitor
Rayne is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.