In a little bit of a debate :-/ - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2005, 01:03 AM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Just for clarity, if you are using water cooling, you damn well better be prepared to put it together and take it apart. You have to empty and change the coolant in the loop every six months and should probably know what to do in the event of a leak.

I have assembled a loop numerous times now and dealt with a leak. It is fairly simple if you are patient and go through all the procedures and double check what you are doing. If you have experience building a PC it's not very difficult, you really just screw on some blocks and attach some hoses and fill it with water
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 10:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

aite i'll just get a case with a lot of fans. any suggestions? i had in mind the new Thermaltake Armor Series.
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 11:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Dude, you don't need a lot of fans. First of all do you plan on overclocking? I'm assuming the answer is "no" since you have not said otherwise. In that case, like the guy said, if you want to be safe, buy a nother fan or 2 and be happy with it. You don't need to run your computer at 10*C unless you're overclocking.

If you ARE overclocking, then you should get additional fans, and a heatsink. If you're experienced with a water-cooling system, then get that, but you only need that for extreme overclocking in which you threaten to damage the hardware. If you plan on overclocking, but are not experienced in watercooling, get a professional to do it.
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 11:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

aite. i might OC i havent decided yet.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 11:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

OC'ing has its advantages and disadvantages. It can make a low-end processor run like a high-end processor. Some time ago, you could overclock a Athlon 64 2500+ to the speed of a 3200+. The 3200+ was 4 times as expensive at the time...

Disadvantage is that it can ruin your hardware if done wrong, it voids the manufacturer's warranty, and some other disadvantages such as you might end up spending more money trying to keep your oc'ed system cool, than you would to purchase the processor.
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 11:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

ooo so i c. i'm getting the Athlon X2 4400+ its fast enough
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 11:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

ROFL. Hell yea thats fast enough. In your case, you can overclock that to very very fast speeds, depending on your core. You might be able to achieve speeds that are at the cutting edge of PC processor speeds. Whats the GHz on that processor? Fastest PC processor AMDs come out with is the brand new FX-57 I think, and its 3.0 Ghz. If you can OC ur processor to 3.0, you have a processor equal to another worth $1000+ right there. That is, if you do it right, and don't ruin what you already have in the process, lol.
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 11:20 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

Tech Spec
Core Toledo
Name Athlon 64 X2 4400+
Operating Frequency 2.2GHz
FSB 1GHz
L1 Cache 64KB+64KB
L2 Cache 2 x 1MB
Process Type 90 nm
Hyper-Transport Support Yes
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 11:23 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Toledo...*drools*. Very impressive. I don't think you can Overclock that as much as a Venice though, You should get to 2.5-2.8 maybe. Word of caution - You'll have to deal with a substantial power consumption and heat dump with the Toledo, not optimal for OC'ing.

Watercooling is sounding very nice for you right now.
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 11:27 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

its either toledo or manchester.
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.