which linux and were to get? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2004, 11:58 PM   #31 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

its in the sig . . . the red

|
|
|
V
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 11:58 PM   #32 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

how long does it take for you to boot up sithspawn??
__________________

xotix is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 11:59 PM   #33 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

If I just wanted to install the platform in its most basic form (for testing purposes), would it take long? I am using the Athlon64 with very powerful performance RAM (Corsair). U think that would speed things up?
ag3 is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 11:59 PM   #34 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

i have the option to view users signature off koldapu.
xotix is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 12:00 AM   #35 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

on my athlon 2500 (oc'd to 3200), 512Mb ram and 7200RPM hd, it takes about 10 seconds. but thats only to the log in screen. it obviously takes a bit longer to actually get into gnome. (i boot up straight into the gdm log in screen)
sithspawn is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 12:02 AM   #36 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

OH HAHA, ok . . .

CPU: Intel Pentium 4 2.4GHz w/ 533FSB
Motherboard: HP Motherboard 850chipset
HDD: 40GB 5400RPM
RAM: 512MB (2x256) PC2100
OPT: DVD/CD-RW
GFX: 32MB ATI IGP
OS: XP HOME
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 12:02 AM   #37 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

Agex - it would definately speed things up. and if you just want to install a pre-compiled version then go for it. It should only take about 5 -10 minutes on a system like yours. im just saying that you wont be getting the full effect of having linux on there.
sithspawn is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 12:02 AM   #38 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

10 seconds nice. how long is it overall though.
xotix is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 12:02 AM   #39 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

sithspawn, does it take longer to install than XP?
ag3 is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 12:04 AM   #40 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

hmmm ok. But is it compatible with Win32 based applications? Like Photoshop, etc.?
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.