which linux and were to get? - Page 13 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2004, 07:14 AM   #121 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

"I'm not sure Linux will autimatticaly detect RAID and SATA....there are often things you have to configure youself after installations."
all you have to do is enable these things in the kernel that the livecd boots you up onto. same as on windows xp setup except you dont need the drivers on hand.

And look guys - theres no EASY way to do this. You cant just downlaod linux and expect it to install as easily as windows does. Its somehting you need to read up on and investigate. Yeah there is a lot of trial and error involved, and you will probably loose everything on your disk once or twice. Thats why you should back everything up so it doesnt matter if you loose it, read up on any articles you can find and then go nuts.

I cant give you a step by step installation guide in this forum as it is just such a long process, and i dont claim to be an expert in the field. Like i said - research it on google and read as much as you can until you find a really good howto. (generally just search howto *what you want to know*)
__________________

sithspawn is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 09:38 AM   #122 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

welcome back sithspawn, you guys reach 4 pages, wow.

i 2nd what sithspawn said. make sure you back up everything. if its possible, you could put windows and linux on 2 different hard drives.
guys you're going to need to have to do some reading and have to take some time to install linux.
__________________

xotix is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 09:45 AM   #123 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

haha. thanks. got need for speed out of my system.
sithspawn is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 11:56 AM   #124 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sithspawn
haha. thanks. got need for speed out of my system.
lol

xotix - That Gentoo URL u posted, is it 64-bit?
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.