linksys wireless connection - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2005, 12:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Unhappy linksys wireless connection

I have a linksys wireless G adapter and a wireless G router. I am using windows xp with a good computer. I was wondering if anyone knew why the connection speeds are so slow (I am not to far from the router), they run at about 11.0MB/s. I heard from somewhere that its my firmware? that i need to update this?
Anyone got any tips to make my connection faster?

thanks
__________________

FouG is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 02:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Firstly, ensure that your wireless adaptor's configuration settings are set so that your Wi-Fi adapator is operating at the highest speed. Some adaptors allow you to modify the speeds to preference...

...apart from that i'm not too sure what else could be the problem.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 02:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

Now, wireless technology ain't that fast man. 54Mbits/s (bits, NOT bytes man) is the fastest, most wireless connections are weak, thus they limit themselves to 11Mbits/s. This is what's happening to you probably. How far is the wireless adapter from the wireless router?

anywho, 54Mbits/s (your wireless max) is 6.75MBytes/s max. Remember, 8 bits inna byte. So a 100Mbit/s (average wired connection) can theoretically go 12.5MBytes/s. So yeah, lol, impossible for a wireless-g router and adapter to go 11MBytes/s unless by MB you meant bits, but usually you write the bits out, and for bytes you just put a B. Kinda threw me off, so just wanna clarify this stuff with ya.

Wait a second.. 802.11b is needed to reach full speed for your wireless-g adapter/router stuff I think, in order to do that, you need to have Windows XP SP2 as it adds support for IEEE 802.11b standard. There ya go, try upgrading to WinXP SP2, should help.
__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 02:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

I think he's just confused Megabytes with Megabits. I think he means 11Mb/s not 11MB/s....
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 03:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

If your router is 802.11G, and the only nodes you have are 802.11G, leave the router set to G mode only, which will get you the highest speeds.. If you have nodes on you network operating at 802.11B, you need to set the router to "mixed" mode. It will decrease your speeds, but then all of your cpu's will work with it.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 03:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

i beleive u have the wrt54g router the same one i had and the same linksys wireless adapter i had and i think u are **** outta luck man. try moving the pc closer, and stuff like that because, there could be stuff in the walls holding u back. the best thing to do is to run wires!
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.