Linksys router - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2003, 12:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default Linksys router

I went out and bought one of them linksys router / switch deals...only 75 canadian bux. came with Norton internet secuerity too...what does y'all make of this product? Post ya comments
__________________

ADZ is offline  
Old 10-20-2003, 12:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Which model did you get?

I only had one bad experience with a Linksys product.
I had a D-Link router in place for about a year and played online games all the time...no problems.
I went out and bought the Linksys BEFW11S4 wireless router/gateway so that I could get even more lazy and play Warcraft on my laptop in the living room while watching TV. After every game, I would get kicked off of game servers. I never had this problem with any other router/gateway that I had in place so I placed the D-Link back in it's place and made another collision domain out of the Linksys router. Haven't had any problems since.
Later I found that I had to tweak the wireless a little to get it to work a little better...
You'll also find that you'll have a lot of cool stuff to tweak with it.
In my opinion, excellent buy!

-Michael
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 10-21-2003, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

thanks for your input!
ADZ is offline  
Old 10-21-2003, 10:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

i could of payed 60 canadian dollars.

but imho, since linksys is a pretty huge corporation, i think it should last you long
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 10-21-2003, 10:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to psychobrigade00 Send a message via Yahoo to psychobrigade00
Default

ive had my linksys for over a year and its rockin
__________________
----------------------------------------------
@>~~~>~~~
Knight of the Roses
~~~<~~~<@
----------------------------------------------
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
Athlon 2600+ Thoroughbred
Corsair TWINX512-2700LL
GeForce 4 ti 4200 128mb
Maxtor 40gb 7200rpm
plextor 48x24x48
psychobrigade00 is offline  
Old 10-22-2003, 12:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,470
Default

I think the linksys router rocks too. Only a few MAIN things you really need to configure, other than that... it should work perfectly right out of the box.

don't forget to add/insert the MAC address....
Larry is offline  
Old 10-22-2003, 11:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Thumbs up

I've got the Linksys WRT54G Wireless router with 2 WUSB11 adaptors on 2 of my PC's and My Main PC is plugged in via an RJ45 cable. Life's Good!!!
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 10-22-2003, 07:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

thanks for all your input...i looked at the box ad saw the cisco logo and it hit me that cisco is the main company and linksys is a side product..humm...never knew that.
ADZ is offline  
Old 10-22-2003, 07:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Yes, actually, Cisco bought Linksys very recently...within 2003

-Michael
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.