linksys print server - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2005, 08:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default linksys print server

admin please delete
__________________

benzimm86 is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 09:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

was just talking to linksys assistant live, support person left me hanging for about ten min, so screw it, im taking it back and getting a jetdirect box.
__________________

__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 11:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

i don't know why anyone would buy a "print server" I think its pointless to pay 30+ for a stupid USB or ETHERnet connector that plugs into the printer and shares is, you can pay 5 bucks for a POS windows 98 system, stick 2000 on it or something, no matter how many printers you need u stick in a freaking usb hub and plug in all your printers and share it. Thats exactly wat i'd do, you don't need to configure much and u dont need a monitor or keyboard plugged in once u got it set up, u install the print drivers, right click the printer and click share.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 12:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

we are installing a bar coding system in our plant and we need the printer to have an actual ip address not a computer with a shared printer. That will not work for what we are doing.
__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 01:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

o...i see...makes sense..
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 03:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

You can buy a computer for $5? where!? You are missing the point of a print server completely. It is not just so you can share it, it is so you can easily share it. If you have printers in different rooms or differnt buildings for all that goes how will you physically connect this printer to the "POS computer/print server" via USB or Parallel it is simply not possible. You are paying for ethernet capability when you buy that $30 print server so that you can plug it in to any open ethernet port and have it only depedent on itself (assuming everything is ok with the network).
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 04:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

Its just too bad that all the print servers out today (with, as far as I know, the exception of the D-Link) require some piece of trash proprietary piece of driver software.

I miss the good old days when print servers meant installing a standard TCP/IP port and printing directly to the printer. (We used to do this on HP Lasers at my old job w/ JetDirect cards)
__________________

__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.