Life expectancy

Status
Not open for further replies.

timmer

Daemon Poster
How long will u thing this computer will last. I plan on getting a new mobo down the road im a sophomore in hight school now and i plan i keeping this computer for college and getting a laptop so i would use this for gaming i will probably have to upgrade a bit in 3 years but then use my laptop for school related stuff and maybe if the price goes down quite a bit on the good ones i might play games on my laptop also but i highly doubt it cause it will be soo expensive to get a laptop to play good games but do u think my processor will last me i leave my computer on at least 12 hours a day and occasionaly overnight for the summer and the temp are idle-28-32C under a load 45C max but when school starts its usually only on for like 6 hours a day. U think ill be ablt oto use this in like 3 years or will i have to start from scratch again

The life span on a CPU is something like 500,000 hours

Once it dies it'll be years old and you'll probberly be dead by then! ;) (well not really)

If you take care of it, it should last you a while. MY old IBM PC 166 is still around. It only runs an 166MHz, but it still ran the last time I turned it on.

The CPU will last for 1000000 on average. But thing like capacitors on the motherboard and the PSU will not last nearly as long as that due to heat.

There is no saying when it will die, and there is no point in worrying until it does, as it is a perfect excuse to get a new one or it is out of date anyway.

The cooler the PC is the longer it will last.

I don't think you'll have to start from scratch in three years but maybe go with upgrades.

The best way to get the longest life possible would be to get a very reliable power supply, try to keep temperatures as low as possible, avoid constant boot, and ridiculously high overclocks supported by insufficient cooling and unsafe temperatures.