Lets just say - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2004, 03:38 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I suggest you upgrade to a Radeon 9600 Pro (pretty cheap now) or at least a Geforce Fx5200
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 03:40 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

hmm, highest ATi pci card i've seen is the 9200 . . .
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 03:52 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I don't think i've seen any non-SE 9200's lately, and they don't give you much in terms of performance
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 10:55 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 50
Default

So I should buy the game and If i like how it runs then get a good PCI card?
Noknowledge is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 11:22 AM   #15 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

I never for the life of me could get a single upgrade to work with my old eMachine except for memory. The video card was a nightmare, I ended up re-installing windows after I figured out that eMachines is a proprietary system and screwed up my comp. I say, get a video card from a store that will let you return opened and installed merchandise.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 11:32 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to NeoNemesis
Default

dude pci cards dont suck. i myself have a nvidia geforce asylum 256mb and 8x accelerator. its friggin awesome and i can play pretty much any game with it. I wouldn't worry about the sims that bad, i mean, its not like doom 3 whent it comes to expectations for specs.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"4\" <a href=\"http://s7.invisionfree.com/NeoForum/index.php\">My Forum</a>
we are just starting out so we need you to join!
NeoNemesis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.