left computer in the cold for about an hour - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2006, 04:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Default

ok so its not my power supply and its not my power button i tested them on different computers, and yes i left in my computer for about 8 hours straight, but the car was parked for over half the time i doubt it got bumped around i wouldve heard it, but thanks for the help, stupid emachines...
__________________

mrphelan is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 04:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Dude, temperature doesn't matter. Unless its above 100c or below -100c, it doesnt matter.

Your computer is broken because something came loose, open it up, take it completely apart and put it back together. 9 times out of 10 that would fix the problem.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 10-17-2006, 01:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Default

ive done that twice, cleaned the dust and everything, and nothing... dude
mrphelan is offline  
Old 10-17-2006, 09:24 AM   #14 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

I would guess the humidity got to it. Possibly the connections got a tiny bit of moisture and corroded. Unless you really like the thing, take out the hard drive and get a new computer. Salvage what parts might have value or use and start over. New PC's aren't that expensive to build or buy pre made. EBAY my man. EEEEEEEEEEEBAY.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 10-17-2006, 10:24 AM   #15 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Odds are it is just a cable.

I know my wires to my power switch came off during transit. It drove me nuts because it wasn't something that you'd look for. Once I figured it out, I had a hrad time because I was putting it on the wrong prongs. I could start my comp with the switch on the mobo, but that just wasn't going to work.

Don't knock eMachines. I'll take one over a Dell anyday. At least they use of the shelf parts.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-17-2006, 05:30 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter

Don't knock eMachines. I'll take one over a Dell anyday. At least they use of the shelf parts.
Right-on! My eMachines never gave me any problems. Nor did my friend's. And we put them through h*ll and back.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 10-17-2006, 08:57 PM   #17 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

lol, im diggin this compaq! never gave me a prob(cept when the psu died) so have you tried a different psu? processor on all the way? p4 connector? aux connectors? anything shorting out inside the case? any bulging capacitor caps? does it stink weird? take anything into note if it seems out of the ordinary, like a brown spot on the mobo, or a smelly psu
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.