Lecture Theatre setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2006, 09:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default Lecture Theatre setup

Hi

i need to setup a lecture theatre style system, i need a PC (or even better a touch screen display) to control a surround sound speaker setup, also alter the light make them dimmer etc. I also need to install surround sound throughout, can anyone recommend some decent speakers, i was thinking of setting up dolby 7.1, and getting a sub and amp aswell, but not to sure about the best setup for this?

Can anyone recommend anything for this setup?

Manny thanks,

Dan
__________________

danhughes87 is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 12:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

for a PC with that capability, all you need is a basic PC, anything from celeron to pentium 4, sempron to athlon, with a 7.1 CH sound card, and 7.1 CH speakers.

The PC shouldnt cost that much, maybe $1000 tops, but the sound card could be $150 approx.

A touch-screen monitor can be expensive, depending if LCD is necessary...


Check these sites for deals:
Ebay - http://www.ebay.com
Newegg - http://www.newegg.com
TD - http://www.tigerdirect.com
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 02:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default

I know that the PC wont be expesenive, im just wandering how the PC will actualy controll thew light switches surly there will have to be some cat5 or something run to a special light switch that will have to be installed? Also the room is pretty big like 20x30 meters surely it will need alot of speakers will 7.1 alow loads of speaers to be connected? If so can you recommend any decent amps or complete kits that contains peakers amps etc.

Dan
danhughes87 is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 03:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

there IS a way to do that, because bill gates house has that

you would need specially designed software.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 03:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default

The last place i worked had the exact same setup that i need to make, never had much involvment with the setup though. If anyone can reccomened any kind of system or company based in the UK, that would be great.
danhughes87 is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 10:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

Check out Pratt Audio-Visual at www.prattav.com

I don't know where you're at, unfortuneately. Their offices are in Iowa and Nebraska.

I had to do a design like this in college, and they helped out immensely. If you need a specific person to talk to, I still have the guys business card that helped me, just pm me for it.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.