Leadtek 6800GT fried? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2005, 02:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Question Leadtek 6800GT fried?

OK well heres the thing, my friend got enough money to buy a new video card and asked me what to get. Well he bought Battlefield 2 and got some games w/ the card and is really getting into PC LANing. ANyways i told him to get the Leadtek 6800GT and he orderd it and when we had the Xbox LAN that following tuesday he had gotten it from Fed Ex that morning. Well when i walked in he said there was a problem. So i proceeded to look at it and everything was ok. Well when we turned it on everything was a garbled mess and i tried diff things to get it to go away. Nothin. I even tried it on 3 diff computers all 8x AGP compatible. Still same thing. So he had to RMA it back to Newegg and he wont get till sometime this week hopefully. Hopefully before the PC LAN at my house this week. ANy of you guys got any suggestions if it happens again? maybe its the computer?
__________________

PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 02:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

It was clearly a driver conflict, hence why trying it on three different computers did nothing
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 02:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if he had an ATI card before, he still needs to remove all ATI components first
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 02:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Ever think it was all screwed up during the boot up guys? Plus driver conflicts wont cause something THAT bad, maybe messed up picture like it all going to the side or something. Its possible there was damage done to it while he was putting it in, possibly static?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 02:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Did you check the temps? Yes, it could be static, but unlikely. If he had ATI before he should use drivercleaner or reformat. Is the PSU powerful enough?
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 10:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

Temps where fine, the PSU was powerful enough, and there was no static due to no carpet around. Besides im not stupid enough to zap a brand new card like that and ive never done it before. His previous card was a GefroceFX 5700. And even if it was ATI it wouldnt be driver issues cause it had like wierd lines and messed up spacing and all that on boot up. So thats why i was guessing it was toast cause the only other card that does that to me is my TI 4400 and that did get fried for a fact. Also the other computers had OK power as well.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 11:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to AmanteImperfett
Default

I doubt this is of any help for if it happens again, but I have a friend who had his PSU fall on top of his video card. He proceeded to turn the computer on and he got *tada* exactly what you did. Lines, various colors, etc. No picture, just a bunch of garbage. He tried an old card and it booted up with picture and all.

It could have been a defective card or it could have been damaged in shipping or what have you. Try another card/the old one and see what you get. I would say that if you get picture, it's gotta be the card. Not sure what to say if it happens again, but I thought I could offer a somewhat similar story to help you find the problem.
AmanteImperfett is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 11:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

I think it was damaged from shipping or is just a defective card cause it was fine when he took his 5700 out and fine when he put it back inl. Like i said we where at a LAN party and his was an Xbox AND a PC Lan so thats how we got to try it in other PCs.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 11:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

The card is shot, it's nto a driver conflict...
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 11:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AmanteImperfett
I doubt this is of any help for if it happens again, but I have a friend who had his PSU fall on top of his video card. He proceeded to turn the computer on and he got *tada* exactly what you did. Lines, various colors, etc. No picture, just a bunch of garbage. He tried an old card and it booted up with picture and all.

It could have been a defective card or it could have been damaged in shipping or what have you. Try another card/the old one and see what you get. I would say that if you get picture, it's gotta be the card. Not sure what to say if it happens again, but I thought I could offer a somewhat similar story to help you find the problem.
You dont need a carpet to create static electricity, it just makes it easier. The ammount of static needed to ruin an electronic part is so little that you would not even feel it. Unless you were wearing an anti-static wrist band, you can not be sure that it was not static. Too bad, I love my Leadtek 6800GT :love:
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.