LCD wonderings - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2005, 08:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default LCD wonderings

Im looking into buying an lcd monitor. Right now I have my sights set on a 19 inch but im wondring if thats a little overkill. The 17 inch ones are about 50 dollars cheaper and im wondeing if the jump in size is really worth that much more money.
__________________

DwayneDays is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 08:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Worth the money? Definately!

I jumped from a 15"CRT to a 19"LCD. I'll never look back.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 09:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

definately go for 19"
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 09:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

Does DVI make much of a difference?
__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 09:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Sometimes yes, sometimes no.

Actually, it depends on your monitor. Some don't really show any different with VGA. But some do.

If you have a DVI connection on both your computer and the monitor, use it. If not, use VGA, or a DVI-to-VGA adapter if you have to.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 09:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

So if it does make a difference its a small one? Cause it would be alot cheaper to buy a 19 inch without dvi
__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 09:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Here's the monitor I have:
http://www.walmart.com/catalog/produ...37802%3A163945

I picked it up in the store for a buck or two less. And, yes, this is the actual monitor that I have and use.

Quote:
Screen Size: 19"
Contrast Ratio: 500:1
Brightness: 250 Cd/m2
Maximum Resolution: 1280 x 1024
Dot Pitch: .296 mm

* 19" LCD monitor
* DVI digital link, DVI and VGA cable included
* 500:1 contrast ratio
* Reaction time (Tr/Tf) 15ms/10ms
* Brightness 250 cd/m
* 1280 x 1024 resolution
* 0.296 pixel pitch
* Digital interface
* 2.5W x 2 speakers
* 56-75Hz frequency
* AC 100V-AC 240V
* 50W power consumption
* Standard 100 mm wall mount
* 13 lbs. weight
* 50,000 hour lamp life
* View angle, R/L/U/D ( CR ?10) 85? / 85? / 85? / 85?
Not bad for less than $300.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 09:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

whats the actualy refresh rate on it 15 or 10
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 10:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

I have my refresh rate set to 60 right now.

Oh, you mean reaction time? I dunno. I don't see any ghosting when watching DVDs, but I don't play fast-action FPSs either.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.