LCD Resolutions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2004, 05:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default LCD Resolutions

How many do LCD monitors have? My parents only had like 3 or four...horrible.
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 05:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

It depends on the quality of the screen. I have seen some that are capable of every resolution that a CRT has...
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 06:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Well my 19" Neovo F-419 has 9 resolutions from 640x350 to 1280x1024...
DoomUK is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 06:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

DoomUK, you play games?
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 01:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

your card plays a role in the kind of resolutions you can achieve, but yeah my particular monitor is capable of:

800x600
1024x768
1152x864
1280x720
1280x768
1280x960
1280x1024

I keep mine at 1280x1024 =)

EDIT: Btw I have an HP Pavilion F1703 flatscreen LCD display.
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 02:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

20" and more are 1600x1200 and a widescreen can be upto 1900x1200
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 03:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 389
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GameGURU
DoomUK, you play games?

y didnt u say that ?
__________________
DAVID_15 is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 04:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by GameGURU
DoomUK, you play games?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------




y didnt u say that ?
.......why did he NEED to say it? and how does it pertain to you?
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 01:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Yeah, I play games Since I bought my new 6800 GT, these days my monitor generally stays at 1280x1024, only with the exeption of Doom 3 which I run at 1152x864.
DoomUK is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 01:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to the grim gopher
Default

i heard that CRT monitors are better for gaming, is this true, or does it just depend on the quality of the LCD monitor?
__________________

the grim gopher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.