Laptop Wont Power On - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2005, 07:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 136
Default Laptop Wont Power On


My Toshiba Satellite 1400 wont boot. The power led doesn't even light up when the A/C adapter is pluged in. I've tried removing the battery but still nothing. I've also checked the ram and the hard drive and their working fine. Any suggestions would be great. I had an idea that it could be the CMOS battery but I can't seem to find it. Would anybody know where it's located?

Thankyou in advance for your time.

iceware is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 07:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 330

under the laptop(bottom part) one of the panels. The battery is circular like a watch battery

Amd64Boy is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 01:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 136

Thanks for the suggestion Amd64Boy. I tried what you suggested but I could'nt find the CMOS battery in the area you said it would be. So I had a look at Toshiba's website and they said that the CMOS battery could'nt be replaced. Instead you had to recharge it but in order to recharge it you had to have the laptop actually turned on. I can't even get it to turn on. None of the led's light up either. Not the power led nothing.

Toshiba also said that the ram may cause the system to not boot if it was not installed properly or if it was faulty. So I tested the ram in my Compaq laptop and it worked. I even installed new memmory but still the same problem. So it's definately not the ram.

I know the power cord works because the transformer heats up when pluged into the wall and the laptop heats up where the A/C adapter plugs in.

I even tested the hard drive and it's working fine.
iceware is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 04:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

I think it's a faulty power pack; not getting power would be the reason the LED doesn't light up with it plugged in
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.