Laptop Upgrading question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2005, 01:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default Laptop Upgrading question

Recently received new laptop from parents for school. I have never used a laptop in my life and I have heard their quite hard to upgrade so here are a few questions I hope can be answered.

1. the laptop came with a 128 MB ATI radeon x300 is this a decent card? I have played world of warcraft on it and it comes in looking great should this card be able to hold up for awhile?

2. In the future If i want to upgrade my video card to like a Ge-force 6600 GT would I be able to do this? I have heard laptops are very difficult to upgrade and not only that I have looked at the requirements and it names pentium, athlon, and celeron but not Centrino would a centrino support that kind of card? The same question applies to RAM would I be able to put another 512 in there?

3. What is the difference between a centrino processor compared to the other processors such as pentium and celeron?


Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
__________________

Causey842 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

1. yes its a good card and it will last for awhile.

2.well you can upgrade but as you said its hard. and the ram no you can only have 1 stick of ram in there.

3. Centrino as far as i know only diff. is that they are built in woreless thats the only thing i know dude.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Default

centrino is a mobo classification. It supposedly takes up less power, runs cooler, and as sniper said, built in wireless. Also, the only laptops that I know of that let you upgrade video cards are Alienwares high end ones.
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.8 ghz
Gigabyte: GH-PCU21-VG 3D Cooler Pro
1024 mb OCZ Ultra High Performance Ram (Dual Channel)
PNY nVIdia GeForce 5200 128 mb
60 gb hd
17\" Hyundai lcd
Wireless G Networking Interface
Unusable 100 gigs of scsi hds in an inclosure

result: one kickass pc
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=124815&amp;t=64\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/get.gif\"/></a>
crazyb8ss is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

yea thats true but i think you still can.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

this is what i heard from other ppl.. no idea how accurate it is.

pentium M + wireless = centrino

celeron M = 1mb L2 Cache
centrino = 2mb L2 Cache + it only runs as fast as it needs for wutever its processing.. unlike celeron, where it would run full speed all the time, making it run hotter, and use up more battery power. in terms of performance, other than the 1mb L2 cache difference b/w centrino and celeron M, the difference in performance is negligible. i don't know much about the regular celeron processors.. this is just b/w celeron M and centrino.

if your laptop is running your games pretty well, then why are you concerned about upgrading? wait until you get a game that you really want to play comes out and you can't play, then think about upgrading. if you're satisfied now, no point in wasting money. oh and you're gonna be in school... should concentrate on school, not games! i wish i had someone tell me that in school..hehe.. all them Ds are haunting me now.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Would it possible to replace the 512 then with a gig if i ever need it? Right now its a 512 Dual channel.
Causey842 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 02:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

yea but find out first how much your labtop supports as far as memory.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 04:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

what do you need a gig for? 512 is fine... im pretty sure.. hehe
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 08:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Man, people still don't know. *cries inside*

No processor exists named Centrino. End of story.

Unfortunately, people often refer to the "Pentium M" as "Centrino." Centrino is a technology... or perhaps several grouped together depending on how you want to look at it. In order for a laptop to be Centrino-badged it must have a Pentium M processor, a certain chipset, and built-in wireless. I don't think Celeron M equiped lappys are considered Centrino.

Centrino is not a processor......


EDIT: Oh, and as for Centrino's (as in, Centrino badged laptops) running cooler... well perhaps they do at idle. Start doing the simplest of tasks and you will have a personal lap toaster. Start doing some light gaming.... prepare to burn... just ask my quadriceps. Unless you crank the A/C this really blows any time besides the winter... "laptop" my ***.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 09:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

You hit the nail on the head, grego. Thanks for saving me some typing.

Anyways, a new laptop should have another RAM expansion slot... there is a little panel on the bottom of it that can be unscrewed and removed to access the ram. You might have two slots and 256 in each.

It's not that laptops are dificult to upgrade, (though, it is a real pain and can be dangerous to the computer if you do not know what you are doing when you open it up) but most parts are made for the specific company or even model. What brand of laptop did you get? Some of them, the non-mainstream computer companies, can be upgraded to some degree.
-There is no modular graphics card, except in select Alienwares. It's usually right under the keyboard, and has a special connector to both the motherboard and display.
-Even if you find an upgrade, that happens to fit, you must make sure it is right for your display, because in my experience, certain displays only work with some cards.

This isn't a comphrehensive guide or anything, just some things to keep in mind. Good luck. :bald:


Quote:
Originally posted by grego
EDIT: Oh, and as for Centrino's (as in, Centrino badged laptops) running cooler... well perhaps they do at idle. Start doing the simplest of tasks and you will have a personal lap toaster. Start doing some light gaming.... prepare to burn... just ask my quadriceps. Unless you crank the A/C this really blows any time besides the winter... "laptop" my ***.
For the rest, they can burn away. For you, you have http://blogs.zdnet.com/BTL/?p=839
__________________

__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.