laptop upgrade or buy a new one??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2005, 09:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12
Default laptop upgrade or buy a new one???

Hi there...

just trying trying to find some information about what should i do with my laptop..

bought it a year ago, toshiba Satelite A 40, 30 gig, 256 ram, cd burner...

Today, i think it need a bit more of ram--> i could go for a 256 ram extra.

i do need a dvd burner--> because on this world of the digital / numerique camera , the cd is now to small to get something on. --> so lets say an external dvd driver. (£50)

But i do want as well some more memory harddrive...i just decide i don t want to buy any more cd, but now just download them..(people say this is the future)(i am out of date)--> you can get a external 250 gb for £100/120 on the web..

So from that, i have the same laptop, with a good ram, big harddrive, and a dvd burner for my picture to save as storage.

or the other option are to sell the one i have and go for a new laptop who will have already the dvd, enought ram, and enought hardrive capacity... but may be just for an extra year!!!

the worry as well is that you have to take in consideration that your external hardrive can crashed, and your 250gb collection of music could be disapeard!!!!!!!!

thanks
__________________

atila is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 10:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

i would upgrade, you might not get wat you want for this one, and i've always learned, its not if your hard drive will fail, its when. so the hdd you have in there now could go now, it could go in 20 years if u actually used it that long. just have that dvd burner and back up your data as much as possible without wasting time and money, and also if its that data sensitive, backup your backups. what do you use your laptop for and for what reasons are you wanting to upgrade your ram, just out of curiosity, it really never hurts, im just wondering.
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 06:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12
Default

thanks ibman.

i do use my laptop, not for work, but i do use it everyday / up to 3 hours a day - emails - reasearch - No game-no download yet(music) but i will in the future.

the ram, because, i thought, it was getting slow, and it s only have 256, so i thought i should upgrade it at 512.

But i think thats because of viruses...

if you can help on the following subject:
Hi there...

my laptop was getting slow, so i did some research on it, run norton virus, didnt catch anything except the saha agent.

then i run msconfig , and i had a list of all programm who start at ...

I make a list of them and make research on the web about the programs.. so many.. and

viruses viruses (or malware trojan etc... - all the same for me)

ccApp.exe , winasp.exe , npfw32.exe ,SVPHOST.exe , MsnMsgr ,,
some of that are definitely virus, and some other i do not know the on the web i find that some of that could be good programs.

And where do they come from?

So, what should i do? trying to clean all this virus or should i just formate my laptop?

after reading all the process to clean each virus, i really will prefer to format it!!! and i know how To do it - but if i do formate it, do all this nasty virus will be definitely out of my machine??

or should i bring it to a computer shop and get it done there and spend £££$$$

Thanks
atila is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 08:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

buy a desktop
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 10:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Formatting your harddrive removes EVERYTHING, windows, viruses, everything. I would highly recomend it, than using some GOOD anti virus and spyware programs like AVG free and Microsoft Antispyware Beta.

It sounds like you need a desktop. I don't think their's a single laptop with 250 gig of storage.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 11:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

i was thinking he meant 250 external storage, but yea that is a good idea, if i could afford it i'd have that up here on my desk rather than a server in the basement. and yea formatting it willd efinitely fix anything, that SVPHOST definitely looks suspicious, i know i hav e a few SVC hosts in my task manager but no svp host. and can we get a 2nd opinion on winasp.exe , npfw32.exe? not sure about these.
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.