Laptop upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2005, 06:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default Laptop upgrade?

Well i have two laptops sitting around that i really want to play BF or Halo on. Unfortunatly the both only have 16mb graphics cards Is there any way to upgrade the grapgics card or is it just basicly a mobo with onboard everything?

Also if anybody has or has links to pics of people taking apart a laptop i'd be really interested to see what it lookslike in there
__________________

Dr Nick is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 07:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 58
Default

What brand laptops are they, and what about the rest of the system specs for both machines. Usually before people in the forum give recommendations about video cards they like to know about the rest of the system.
__________________

__________________
P4 3.2 GHz Althon 3200+
Asus Mobo Gigabyte Mobo
1 Gig Ram 1 Gig Ram
Ati 9800 Pro Gigabyte 6600GT
250 Gig Maxtor HD 160 Gig WD HD
upallnighter is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 07:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Most likely onboard. You're out of luck. My laptop has a 16mb onboard gpu also. I hate laptops. Get a desktop!
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 08:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default

Yea my main computer is a desktop and i'm building another now so i don't use laptops much but for traveling and whatnot i figured it'd be cool to be able to play game on the road and stuff My Dad's laptop is a 1.7ghz HP which would play it fine but he won't let me instal anything I wish i had somthing like a USB Hard drive or Zip drive to put the games on and just attach that when i want to play O well
In case you wanted:
1) Compaq Armada E500

2) Compaq Armada M700

*Didn't feel like turning them on to get tech specs but if you really need them you could probly find them online

So you're sure theres absolutly positivly no possible way to upgrade the GPU?
Dr Nick is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 10:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Townsville, QLD
Posts: 670
Default

I woouldn't bother nick,

Laptops are A Pain at the best of times, upgrading them really isn't worth the Aggro. Get A new one, trash the old ones for gaming (might run Linux on them though?)

Jake
__________________
Linux Distro chooser

[
jakec is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 11:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default

Well at the price of laptops today im definetly not getting one as a novelty
Quote:
(might run Linux on them though?)
What do you mean just run it for fun or what?
Also, Linux is free, right?
Dr Nick is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 11:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Linux is free to download or very cheap to buy, plus it comes with tons of software.
Neither laptop can have its GPU upgraded, I checked then out. I also own an e500, so now we're laptop buddies
Give eBay a look for a good deal, you can get some nice ones there. Make sure that the seller has a great feedback rating so you don't have any risks involved.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 12:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Townsville, QLD
Posts: 670
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dr Nick
Well at the price of laptops today im definetly not getting one as a novelty

What do you mean just run it for fun or what?
Also, Linux is free, right?
I didn't mean to upset you sir,

I just ment to say "Don't use laptops for gaming, they are useless for this purpose

Use them for Word processing And general office work fine, but if you want to play games Get A desktop!

No, I did not neccicarily Mean running Linux for for fun, but Technology is shuch A terrible thing to waste. instead of "getting rid of it" use it expand your knolege A little (no, I'm not caling you stupid by this remark, please do not take offense) Learning Linux is A good first step.

Jake

PS. Second hand/ ex-lease Laptops are very cheap, try an auction house or an online action, I Agree though friend (may I call you A friend?) I wouldn't get A new one for A novelty either...
jakec is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 12:34 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 76
Default

I beg your pardon. My XPS would be upset.
__________________
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR Expert
AMD Opteron 185
OCZ Platinum 2GB(2 X 1GB) 3 3 2 8
EVGA 7900 GTX
OCZ Powerstream 600 Watt
LiteOn DVD Burner 16X w/Lightscribe
2-74GB Raptors (RAID)
WD 150GB Raptor
Mitsumi 1.44 Floppy
ATI TV Wonder Elite
Thermaltake Tai-Chi W/Built-in H2O (GPU & Chipset)
CoolIT Systems Freezone CPU Cooler
caveman4810 is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 09:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default

LAPTOP BUDDIES! I really like the E500 since it has both floppy and Cd drives in it. My Dads laptop has an interesting concept, it doesn't have any drives in it but it comes with a USB CD Drive. Makes it really light but the E500 Is heavy as a rock but i like it

Well thats too bad i can't upgrade but o well.

I think im jus gonna save my money for my build project and run linux on one of the laptops (never used linux so it'l be interesting)


Thanks for all the help
__________________

Dr Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.