Laptop Processor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2007, 06:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to cplEverett
Default Laptop Processor?

What's a good laptop processor nowadays? I was looking for a decent processor that will be able to handle some gaming. Checked out the C2D mobile line but they look rediculously expensive. I couldnt find a dual core proc from AMD? Does AMD have dual core laptop processors yet? Maybe I'm just really behind the times....
__________________

cplEverett is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 07:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Laptop Processor?

Hello,

AMD's line of dual core mobile processors are called AMD Turion X2 processors.

So are you thinking of upgrading the processor in your laptop?

You'll be restricted in which brand and processor socket you can use.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 07:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to cplEverett
Default Re: Laptop Processor?

Thanks Alvin. The reason I asked is because I was looking at alienware's line of laptops and they have one with SLI but it runs turion single core processors. The ones that have C2D dont run SLI. Im just looking for a laptop that will tie me over for a few years until I can get a desktop and not worry about deploying every year.
cplEverett is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Laptop Processor?

Okies I see.

Personally, I would get one with Core 2 Duo (Area-51 or Sentia), but since gaming is one of your priorities, perhaps it would be best for you to get an Aurora.

Still, the Alienware's Core 2 Duo laptops are cheaper than the AMD Turion Single core laptops with dual graphics.

Keep in mind that if you're looking for a laptop which will last for a good while on the go, then perhaps Alienware isn't the right direction.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 08:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to cplEverett
Default Re: Laptop Processor?

The sentia rolls with onboard GFX I bought one for my girlfriend a while back though lol.

The aurora doesnt run dual core and doesnt have ddr2.

I think ive found what im looking for elsewhere though (www.abs.com). Thanks for the info alvin!
cplEverett is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.