Laptop performance on battery - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2004, 05:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to NoahWyle
Default Laptop performance on battery

does anyone else get REALLY slow performance on their laptop when its on battery power, my power scheme is "always on" which is the highest power setting, is there something else im not catching?

Athlon XP-M 2500+, 512 DDR 333MHZ, 40 GB HD, 128 MB Radeon Video, Compaq 2195US
__________________

NoahWyle is offline  
Old 04-23-2004, 07:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default

Power Schemes only determine after how much time your laptop goes into suspend/hibernation. I don't think it CPU performance on battery.
__________________

aye29 is offline  
Old 04-23-2004, 08:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

Batt doesnt affect PC performance, after all it is absorbing the same amount of power
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-23-2004, 08:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

A few ways to conserve the batt and lengthen the time of the batt:

1) Dim the lights as much as you can, make sure you can see without straining
2) Turn off your sound
3) Close as many programs as possible
4) Go to www.blackviper.com and look under your OS title, close as many applications as possible, it really uses up the batt too.
5) Set your power settings
6) Utilise screen saver as much as possible
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-24-2004, 04:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 83
Default

Had a Compaq laptop once that did the same thing. Booting on battery took at least twice as long as when it was plugged in. Some of these Mobile CPUs run at a slower speed when running on batteries to conserve on power. I'm not sure where you can change that
Fragino is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.