Laptop + KVM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2003, 08:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to tavilach
Default Laptop + KVM?

Would there be any way to use a KVM switch with a laptop? Let's say, for example, that I wanted to use a PowerBook with a Linux server...would there be anyway to use a KVM switch to display the server on the PowerBook's screen?

I am NOT talking about running Linux on a PowerBook. I'm talking about KVM stuff.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
\"Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum on which to place it, and I shall move the world.\" -Archimedes
tavilach is offline  
Old 09-15-2003, 09:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

hmmm. Does your laptop have PS2 ports? If not, try using the KVM and connecting the ends to PS2 to USB adapters.

I don't know how it would work, or if it even would, but if your PC can detect the difference between a mouse and a keyboard on the PS2 end, then it might for USB.
__________________

__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 09-15-2003, 10:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

the only way you would be able to do that would b if you have keyboard/mouse out and video in (most likely the opposite of what you have) i would just use an external monitor/keyboard/mouse and run the laptop on those, instead of trying to run the server through the laptop
dethangel is offline  
Old 09-15-2003, 02:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to tavilach
Default

I don't know what my laptop has, because I haven't bought it yet...haha. But it's going to be a high end PowerBook, so whatever that has, I'll have.

And about the external monitor...I really don't feel the need for two monitors (laptop + external). I'd really want to be able to utilize the PowerBook's wonderful screen for the Linux box!

There is no way to add a keyboard/mouse out and video in with some sort of adapter or add-in or anything?

Thanks!
__________________
\"Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum on which to place it, and I shall move the world.\" -Archimedes
tavilach is offline  
Old 09-19-2003, 11:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to tavilach
Default

Bump
__________________
\"Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum on which to place it, and I shall move the world.\" -Archimedes
tavilach is offline  
Old 09-19-2003, 04:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

again, I'd try USB. Just make sure if your dealing with a linux box that you have it switched to the keyboard/mouse when you boot so it can detect it.
__________________

__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.