laptop HD in external Case? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2008, 07:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
Default laptop HD in external Case?

Hi all,
I have a 40gb fugitsu hd in an external case. My question is What type of laptop hd can I buy that will fit into this external case and be compatible. I mean can I buy a 160gb 2.5inch laptop hard drive and put it in this external case and will it work? Thanks a bunch.
__________________

paradigmshift is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 07:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: laptop HD in external Case?

You just need to match the type of drive and form factor. The 2.5 in should work.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 07:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
Default Re: laptop HD in external Case?

what do you mean by "type of drive"... do you mean it has to be fujitsu?

Because originally I bought the case and the hard drive seperatly and assembled it myself.
paradigmshift is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 07:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: laptop HD in external Case?

No. There are two types of drives: PATA and SATA. PATA has two rows of pins, probably what you have. SATA is a newer type.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 07:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
Default Re: laptop HD in external Case?

Oh okay that helps, so I shouldn't buy SATA hard drives, only PATA.
Does PATA have any other synonyms, it will make it easier to search for what I need. I mead like IDE compatible or something...
paradigmshift is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 07:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: laptop HD in external Case?

PATA is IDE or ATAPI or even regular ATA.
Here's a link: AT Attachment - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 08:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
Default Re: laptop HD in external Case?

great! that is informative...
Now would you happen to know where on the net I could find information about how to "repair laptop hard drives"?
I mean are their books for this sort of thing or just experience?
I am no engineer or anything, but interested in buying cheap hard drives from ebay and seeing if I can repair them for my use.
paradigmshift is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 08:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: laptop HD in external Case?

Hard drive repair at home is a no go, you need a TOTALLY clean an static free enviorment.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 09:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: laptop HD in external Case?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Chadwick View Post
Hard drive repair at home is a no go, you need a TOTALLY clean an static free enviorment.
Dust free too.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air Cooling Guide SirCyber Overclocking and Modding 5 01-03-2008 12:58 PM
Computer shutting down without an open case and external fan Rodex123 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 08-30-2007 11:14 AM
Thoughts on the Antec 900 joey1 New Systems | Building and Buying 69 07-14-2007 06:04 AM
Better case? mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-17-2007 01:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.