laptop hard drive noises and problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2004, 12:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
Default laptop hard drive noises and problems

i have a compaq presario 1720 us laptop. its pretty old, around 4 years i belive. yesterday the hard drive started clicking every few seconds, and its like a accessing click, but it kept on goin. i restarted the computer and it happened again when i got onto windows, so i schedualed a disk checkup using the windows xp tool. when i restarted again, the computer locked up at the windows xp start up screen where theres that little bar thingy. it keeps on clicking but it doesnt load up windows. i have some files on the hd that i need to get, so does anyone have any idea on what i should do to fix it it. im thinking about buying a converter so i can hook it up to my desktop so that i can extract all my files that i need and get a new hd or something. has anyone evey used one of those mini hd enclosure thingys that let you put notbook 2.5 in hds so that you can use it for usb. help me out pleese. thanks.
__________________

sonic113 is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 04:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

I've worked with a ton of HD's and every time it starts clicking louder than normal like the arm is hitting the side of the HD than it failed with-in a week. My suggestion is don't use the HD until you have some way to back it up. There are converters for 5-10 dollars that convert the connection to a 3.5" IDE and you could slave it on your desktop. The only bad thing is that you would have to open your case. or you could spend another 30-50 dollars getting a USB enclosure and use it with the converter.
__________________

__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 09:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
Default

hmm thats a good idea. it does sound like the arm is clicking. so i should do it asap so i can save my hd. if it does die, what should i do? it only happens when it starts booting i think....but i dont know. how would i go abut backing up all my data? should i make an image of it or shuld i just drag all the files to my other hard drive. thanks! i hope all my files are still there.
sonic113 is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 02:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

draging and dropping is much easier than creating an image but if you have done it before go for the image
__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 03:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default

If you're familiar with the process you may want to create an image. If your drive fails before you backup, you'll have to get a data recovery service, I believe.
bresin is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 05:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

Sounds like your harddrive is on it's last legs. If the harddrives's swing are is hitting the surface of the disks, the disks themselves are being scratched and it won't be ling before your data is lost entirly. Sorry.
__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 05:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276
Default

Just back up your files on another computer, via a network, or create a CD, then buy a new hard drive of ebay, a 20GB one goes for about 20 Quid.
__________________

__________________
Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.