laptop fan gettin too long... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2005, 09:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Default laptop fan gettin too loud...

so u guys think i should open the lappy, and put in a new fan?

after 14months, it's been great, runs great....but just this fan is on constantly now....feel like it's gonna take flight anytime now.

odd tho, my CPU usage fluxes from 0% to about 80% while just having mozilla browser open.

checked for background apps, adaware, defragged....nothing out of the ordinary.

so i think it's just time for a new fan....but after a year? is that normal?

thx for any imput guys.
__________________

__________________
\"I am not young enough to know everything.\" - Oscar Wilde
EdoKoi is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 10:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default Re: laptop fan gettin too loud...

Quote:
Originally posted by EdoKoi
so u guys think i should open the lappy, and put in a new fan?

after 14months, it's been great, runs great....but just this fan is on constantly now....feel like it's gonna take flight anytime now.

odd tho, my CPU usage fluxes from 0% to about 80% while just having mozilla browser open.

checked for background apps, adaware, defragged....nothing out of the ordinary.

so i think it's just time for a new fan....but after a year? is that normal?

thx for any imput guys.
Well if you have a small fan, it will use it self more rapidly... if it's only a 40mm like I had on my old video card, then yes it's normal after an year... I had to replace the 40mm fan every 2 months or less
__________________

__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 11:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

does laptop fan need to replace regularly?? I am newbie to laptop
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 03:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Kinda, when it's doing a lot of noise...
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 03:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

It doesn't matter that much. But if you want to, go for it, it can only help.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 03:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Well it does not matter like woot6600GT said but, some people doesn't like the noise... it's just when a fan get used it does a lot of noise... but, still does work...
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 03:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

I dont really see what the problem is I am kinda confused... if its making more noise why not just clean the fan... get a can or air or something... that would be my best guess... I find it idiotic and tedious to sit there and replace a fan that small ever couple of months...
str8lazy is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 03:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Well if you dind't know, after a while, a fan if you clean it and put oil in it, it will still do noise and you won't be able to fix it after a while...
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 03:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

oh well that blows, just use a desktop then.
str8lazy is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 03:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Yeah personnaly I don't use a laptop... it's too much trouble...
__________________

__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.