LanParty UT nF4 Ultra-D --- Memory Problems! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2005, 03:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to 98RedGs Send a message via AIM to 98RedGs Send a message via Yahoo to 98RedGs
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII
if you're already shelling out money for a dfi mobo (more expensive than most s939 mobos), then dfi expects you do buy decent ram, not value ram
I "assumed" the ram itself wouldnt make the system go awol.
Plus reading the reviews on the ram I didn't think it would be a problem.



Teaches me to think...
__________________

98RedGs is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 10:05 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to 98RedGs Send a message via AIM to 98RedGs Send a message via Yahoo to 98RedGs
Default

Update:

Returning.
Corsair Value Select (Dual Pack) 184 Pin 512MBx2 DDR PC-3200 - OEM


Buying.
Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series, (Twin Pack) 184 Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200 - Retail



Hopefully this will resolve my issue.
Wish me luck!
__________________

__________________
P5N32 SLI SE DELUXE motherboard
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB DDR2 800
Core 2 Duo E6600
XFX 7800GT
OCZ 520w Modular psu
98RedGs is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 07:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to 98RedGs Send a message via AIM to 98RedGs Send a message via Yahoo to 98RedGs
Default

Got new ram.
Threw the first stick in it tested 13hrs today no errors.
Tested the 2nd one for about 2 hours nothing wrong with it either.


Put them both in and still beeping not detecting ram...
Is this my motherboard that is bad from the start?..

Or what am i missing?
__________________
P5N32 SLI SE DELUXE motherboard
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB DDR2 800
Core 2 Duo E6600
XFX 7800GT
OCZ 520w Modular psu
98RedGs is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 07:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

did u put both of them in the orange slots?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 07:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to 98RedGs Send a message via AIM to 98RedGs Send a message via Yahoo to 98RedGs
Default

Yes.
__________________
P5N32 SLI SE DELUXE motherboard
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB DDR2 800
Core 2 Duo E6600
XFX 7800GT
OCZ 520w Modular psu
98RedGs is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 07:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

you said you tried slots 2 & 4 have you tried 1 & 3?

Could be the mobos slots giving you probs, but if you havent tried 1 & 3 you should do that
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 07:45 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
you said you tried slots 2 & 4 have you tried 1 & 3?

Could be the mobos slots giving you probs, but if you havent tried 1 & 3 you should do that
Seeing as I have the EXACT same problem I'll go and try that now.
Alazar is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 07:47 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol, hope it works out for ya.

But the mobos slots is something to consider. Try a known good stick in each of the slots and see if your computer acts funny in for example slot 4 but not slots 1-3...then that'd tell you the mobos to blame
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 07:50 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to 98RedGs Send a message via AIM to 98RedGs Send a message via Yahoo to 98RedGs
Default

Nope... Still not working if I do either of them.
I get the long BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP's and the diagnostic led's at the bottom stops at 3.
__________________
P5N32 SLI SE DELUXE motherboard
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB DDR2 800
Core 2 Duo E6600
XFX 7800GT
OCZ 520w Modular psu
98RedGs is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 07:53 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to 98RedGs Send a message via AIM to 98RedGs Send a message via Yahoo to 98RedGs
Default

Tell me I'm not an idiot.



I take the memory... I open the case I put stick one into slot 2(orange) then put stick 2 into slot 4(orange) and I power on the system right?....
__________________

__________________
P5N32 SLI SE DELUXE motherboard
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB DDR2 800
Core 2 Duo E6600
XFX 7800GT
OCZ 520w Modular psu
98RedGs is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.