Lan-Gaming Cafe Owner, Need Help... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2005, 07:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530

Originally posted by Sevoma
Quintox, are you kidding me? Linksys is the crappiest brand of routers on the market. Search the web and you will se what I mean. I had one and a couple port burnt out and then it died. I recomend Network Everywhere, a division of Linksys.
linksys is actually good...

eh, see, its a division of linksys, so it must be good

Quintox is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 07:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592

Isn't Linksys a division of Cisco? Anyway I would agree with Quintox, Linksys is a good brand, they're easy to install and setup, plus there is a lot of available information about them. If your ever having trouble forwarding ports, or anything like that, your going to find a lot of help. I also like Netgear. I have been having a little trouble with my Belkin 54g Wireless Router, so I don't know if I would recommend them as a good brand to go with. But its just one router, I know people who have used them and loved them.

ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 09:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 88

i agree with everybody else on what they've said already, especially the upgrade to 1gb ram part.

And for the love of God, be sure to get COMFORTABLE CHAIRS. there's nothing that will hurt a computer gaming place more than uncomfortable chairs.(well...maybe broken computers)
Luxar is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 10:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388

Originally posted by jaksback
512 is gonna lag a bit, better to have 1gb

Definitely go router IMO cuz you'll have a seperate IP address for each pc. Not sure bout switches.

Don't forget the cost of the OS, make sure its a single purchase with a multiple pc license. you don't want to get cracked for installing a single license edition over multiple pc's
First of all, yes, you'll need 1GB of Ram, but don't worry that Value Ram will do.

You also want a router, smartest networkign device out their, and yes, Linksys is good brand and reputable. If you have a problem, they will take care of it. (you sound deciently knowledgable about computers, youll do fine setting it up throught he manual).
Also, about CS:S, You really cannot notice a difference with the AA setting on or off (and thats from a machine similar to the ones your putting together, not mine). Also, you may find people play 1.6 more than CS:S, around here source is hated, I miss 1.5 with a passion.

About the server....If this is a brand new business, you're always going to have to be upgrading to the newest games, especially if you are going to stay on the top of your class. An expensive but good solution to the server, would be a dual intel xeon setup in my opinion, or maybe the AMD opitron, but if never worked or heard much about them. The MB for this dual settup will be expensive, but remember you arn't buying a video card either, and you MAY need registered RAM ( A pain but I dont know...).

Last reccomendation: About where to put the $100, in to a GT, or 64bit system.

I would definatly say get 6600gts. Like I said, you will need to upgrade. When this happens, theses card will work pretty good in the new systems.

Final notes:
A) With those cases, get like 3 different colors, it will make the setup look cooler in the cafe.

B) I am not sure if those cases lock the drive bays, but you may want to consider having the drive bays ALWAYS locked, as to limit security risks with the custumers, when they ask for a game, symply come over with the universal key, open - insert - lock. And you are done, your target audience will love to mess with computers, beware.
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 02:56 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

your 17" Samsung Syncmaster CRT monitor is too small. I think you would want at least 19" for playing games.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 05:31 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

for RAM, I would get Kingmax, it is very good for its price

as far as the graphics cards go, I would recommend 6600's in PCI-E. these cards were designed for PCI-E, so they are cheaper and perform better when they are in PCI-E
to go with it, an Nforce 4 (for PCI-E) socket 939 motherboard. the Gigabyte K8NF is a descent motherboard.
and an Athlon 64 3000+ winchester would do quite nicely, it's not pricey, and I think the performance is higher than the XP 3200+
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 07:08 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383

i think thats a better choice. here is a place with a lot more to choose from though :
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 08:05 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204

Sounds like an awesome cafe! Make sure the the athlon xp 3000 has a 400fsb to support the ddr400, if it is only 333fsb get ddr333 memory. It'll save ya some money. For heaven sakes ya dont need an athlon 64, dish out extra money for either 6600gt or Radeon 9800pro instead. The radeon 9800pro is cheaper I think but doesnt play at bigger resolutions as well, like over 1024x768. The radeon 9700pro costs about the same as the regular 6600 and would probably play all the half-life/cs games better! I think 512mb would honestly do, and increase if you have to later.
Can't you get discounts somewhere for ordering in large quantities? Like I said, you may even downgrade the cpu and use the money on even better video or more memory. Fancy lights ALWAYS impress customers so put a light on the cases. What about warcraft III pc game, it was real popular!
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 10:36 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943

Just a couple of comments

1 if u wanna enable huge aa and af ul need a much more leet grfx card than the 6600 or 6600GT. even the 6800GT strougle with all this (take a look at it will show u how hardware will perform in the source engine).

2. the 6600 isn't availiable in agp only the 6600GT is and if ur happy not to have aa or aff on huge then the 6600GT is the best solution ever (might be worth waiting for the 256mb version)

3. u will definitly need 1gig of ram for max settings on most games like doom3. i can run doom3 on ultra on 512 but thats pushing it and i get stuttering when i move into a new room and i can garentee u that i would be pissed if a place set the settings to max and then it did that if i was paying per hour.

4. Get 64bit they own the 32bit versions anyday if u can;t afford the 939 thats more upgrade friendly then get 754 and know that u got the best value for money as a 64bit 2800 ownz a 3000 32bit any day of the week.

5. get geil/kingmax ram as its as fast (pc3200) as the corsair/kingston value but it has a beter cas latency (2.5 as opposed to 3).

6. someone else correct me if im wrong but isn't dfi good beacause of ocing?mabe get giabyte as they are cheap and reliable.
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 03:57 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

keeping in mind that he is buying many compuers, and he wants to keep costs low while having good computers

I would try and go for some Athlon 64 3000+'s in socket 939, Gigabyte K8NF Nforce4 boards and Geforce 6600's in PCI-E

Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.