Laggy HD??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2003, 09:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to kizzeith
Question Laggy HD???

I have noticed that since i started loading up my slave drive (WD 120 GB) with files, it tends to lag a bit when I am attempt to browse it. Like, say I open up the D:/ drive, then right click or click on an icon it will take quite a while before the menu pops up. Say 15 seconds or so.

Any ideas to what is causing this?
__________________

__________________
Gateway Machine - I know...I sold out...if I could do it over I'd have built like I used to :(
MS Vista Premium 32-bit
AMD Phenom (9500) Quad-core Processor 2.20 ghz
500GB hard drive
3GB DDR2 RAM
2 Free PCI-E slots x1
1 Free PCI-E x16
kizzeith is offline  
Old 12-21-2003, 09:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to kizzeith
Default

BTW, I forgot to add it usually only does this when I am opening the drive for the first time that session, or if i have been idle for a while. Is there anything I can do?
__________________

__________________
Gateway Machine - I know...I sold out...if I could do it over I'd have built like I used to :(
MS Vista Premium 32-bit
AMD Phenom (9500) Quad-core Processor 2.20 ghz
500GB hard drive
3GB DDR2 RAM
2 Free PCI-E slots x1
1 Free PCI-E x16
kizzeith is offline  
Old 12-21-2003, 11:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

I had that before. It use to do that cause I formatted my D: from NTFS to FAT32... I just thought it was natrual as my C: was still NTFS and I thought Windows will cache it up or whatever in a couple days or so.
Funny, I was right... its been months now since I converted file systems and its as good as new... so maybe wait a couple days? lol

Other than that, maybe scandisk/defrag may help
__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.