Lag or no lag, that is the question.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2005, 02:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default Lag or no lag, that is the question....

What games or apps would i get lag with:

Patriot 2GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel

AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego 1GHz FSB I oc'ed to 2.8ghz and did a mod to make my fsb 200mhz from 400mhz, multiplying it to 2000mhz

Leadtek PX6800GT TDH Geforce 6800GT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 I oc'ed 500mhz/1200mhz.

Im glad i have central air with 2 vents right near my pc with a steady 65 degree climate and a nice thermatake case keeping my temps below 40 degrees c. About the mod. A old friend of my dads took a mod a guy did to another mobo and he applied that to mine, and it worked! Anyway, any lag in anything? How about high/maxed out settings?
__________________

Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 03:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

To make it easy I game and my dad burns lots of dvds and does video editing and computer modeling and rendering. Name alot of top of the line well known programs in those catagories i might have problems with and also which would run really good. Just so i know which programs to get and which to stay away from. Thanx
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 08:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

quit doing these posts. they're not necessary. I don't know if the purpose is bragging, but if it's not, I'm sorry. I don't think you'll see lag. There's no point in bogging it down with 7 programs anyway, and no single program is going to lag the computer.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 02:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Look im sorry its just i need to build a computer that is going to last atleast 4 years cause my dads a dush!
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 02:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It's good, but it certinally wont last 5 years
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 02:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

if the point of this post is to brag, lemme shoot him down with my sig
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 02:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

i wouldnt be doing any rendering while gaming unless you got 2 cpus
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 03:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

That kind of a system should be able to handle almost anything you throw at it. It should be able to handle intensive Maya 3dsmax7 rendering.

However, this goes for only singe threaded-apps or single power apps. Don't expect to run two games at the same time or combine rendering and gaming. You need a dual core for that. You'll definitely get lag if you run two apps at once. You'll get lag on an FX-55 or any FX processor when you runs more than one resource heavy app at the same time.

Expect the lag...
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 06:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

well not really any programs will run slow unless you are doing more than 1 at a time.probably some video editing and stuff may slow you down a llittle but but u definitly wont be able to play game and burn dvd at same time since u dont have a dual core and since u put out soo much money and didnt go dual core is sad in my oppinion.
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 07:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Can I ask how you were able to mod your HTT speed to 2000MHz? It no doubt took a volt mod in order to achieve that kind of stability and I'm interested in seeing where you soldered on the board and where you found the procedure for doing so...and for that matter, what type of board is it?

It just seems strange since the HTT is default 200*5*2 stock anyways, unless of course you are talking about just turning 200*5*2 into 400*5*2 which would equal a 4GHz effective hypertransport bus.

This doesn't seem plausible since exceeding 2000MHz HTT speed can lead to instability and in most cases system crashes, plus increasing the HTT bus won't even yield better bandwidth.

I'm also curious as to how you were able to achieve DDR800 speeds in order to reach a 4GHz HTT bus. If you could post some CPU-Z screenshots that would be nice
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.