L2 Cache - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2006, 07:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

What does is the L1, L2, and L3 cache's purpose? Llike what does it do if there is memory like the ram.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 09:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

its kinda like a queqe area for incoming instructions and data..

Data moves from the ram, and gets stored in the l1/l2 cache and gets processed when ready by the CPU. Something like that.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 12:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan
Default

The closer you are to the processor, the faster the memories, the faster your pc runs....

L0 cache is bascially the 8 crummy processor intel registers.
For example, PPC processors, like the G5, have 32 processor registers....
Of those 8 registers, only 5 can be used because the others are used for instruction pointing and stack management.
So as you can see, intel processor are actually, really crummy, but intel has market share.....

L1 cache is close to the register file, and is like an extension of it.
L2 may be ondie, or off die.....it is further from the register file
L3 is usually off die, if a processor contains it.....if no L3 on chip is present, then RAM is considered L3, L4 would be harddrive, L5 would removable drive, L6 would be network.....and so on.....

The further you get from the register file, the slower data transfer gets.......

2x L2 cache means that each core has its own L2 cache that it can address.
The processor also has 2x L0 cache at about 32 bytes...only 20 of which that is addressable.....
and a L1 cache........

The more memory you have closer to the processor, the faster the processor will run....thats what it comes down to....

If your really interested in this and not majoring in computer science...then pick up the CSAPP book....but it is still very hard to read....
shdwsclan is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 12:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by shdwsclan
The more memory you have closer to the processor, the faster the processor will run....thats what it comes down to....
Since when is that the case???? L1 and L2 cache helps, but it does not mean the more you have the faster it will run.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.