Kvm - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2006, 07:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default Kvm

I have a problem. i have three computers, one is a laptop and the other two are desktops. My desks is getting cluttered and I want to use ONE mouse and Keyboard for all three but still be able to see individual monitors. Every KVM switch i look at does mouse and keyboard but also wants video. Will this work? Can I just use mouse and keyboard and not plug in the video or will the KVM and the computers flip out?

Also do KVM switches work with all platforms or is it software based? Can i use Linux and Apple machines with them, I don't want a software/driver driven application and sucks down my resources. Thanks a lot
__________________

krolden is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 08:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

http://synergy2.sf.net

Works great with me between Windows/Mac and Linux/Mac.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 08:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default

You are the man! Thank you!
krolden is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.