Kingston value ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2005, 08:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default Kingston value ram

circuit city had them on sale w/rebate (i got a gig [2x512mb] for $114 taxed [8.25% here at los angeles])

anyways, it's timing is 3-3-3

would that lower my performance? if so, should i do anything to change it and how safe is it if i change the timings


I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 10:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

It's decent. the Cas latency has more effect on stability than bandwidth but of course this pertains to OC'ing the RAM really.

the 2nd set of 3's has more effect on bandwidth..possibly 100-200mb/sec difference if you benched it in Sandra.

As far as changing timings, that's up to your disgretion. They put it at 3 for a reason because that's it's safe settings. I have a single stick of kingston value RAM and I don't believe it liked any tighter timings, but you can try it if you want.

If you fry it, chances are you could still get it replaced by the manufacturer. I fried a stick of theirs and said "Yeah, I used a program memtest86+ to see if it was giving me errors and it gave me over 100,000" and they replaced it

Nubius is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 11:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349

i have a relate question after reading the above....

if you have ram with lower timings... example - 2.5-3-2-8 (i made up those #s)

and you run that ram at example - 3-3-3-8, would that make your ram more stable then default? and posibly increas its meantime between failure? or would it actually be bad even though its slower timings?
jolancer is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 12:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya

The lower timings the better. Mine is 2-3-2-6. However, the difference you will see in gaming with the more expensive, low latency RAM isn't worth the cost, so its best to just go with ValueRAM unless you really do have the money to spend.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 01:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

Stability only applies to overclocking, not standard RAM use. So no loosening the timings won't do anything useful if you're using it for normal use.

low latency RAM is only worth it for serious overclocking because you can get upwards of DDR500+ if you get the right pair.
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.