keyboard problem - dell inspiron 4150 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2005, 02:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default keyboard problem - dell inspiron 4150

Hi group,

I have a most annoying problem with my keyboard. At various times, different sets of keys will not work on my keyboard. Right now, the "2" "w" "s" and "x" keys do not work on my keyboard. Previously, it was some keys on the right side of the keyboard. ( I have to cut/paste to get these letters or number in this message ). It seems to be an internal problem, as I bought a keyboard on ebay, and it too had the same problem.

I was having some problems with Norton Internet Security 2004, and when I up graded to 2005, my keyboard problems seemed to be fixed. However that turned out not to be the case, as I am suddenly having problems again. I have also noticed that when I have this problem, my Outlook Express seems to have difficulty sending my email messages.

Any comments or recommendations would be great!


mikesal3731 is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 05:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

get a DOS boot disk and test the keyboard in DOS or use a live cd of linux to see if the problem is OS related

edit: i have a suspicion this is being caused by a virus

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 11:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4

thanks nitestick

i agree, i think i have a virus too. now, my next question to the group is, how do i get rid of this virus on my computer. I'm somewhat of a novice so going beyond my norton internet security 2005 may be difficult for me. i thought this security software would do this for me. thanks for the help folks, i really appreciate it! Mike
mikesal3731 is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 03:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
macdude425's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425

When the computer is coming up, hold F8, and you should get a menu of Windows boot options. Look for a safe mode option, and select that. After it boots and you have logged in, run your anti-virus, clean out whatever it comes up with, and restart. Hopefully that will fix it.

Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 01:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4

Init 0-

I put my computer in safe mode using F8, however, my norton antivirus would not work, any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Mike
mikesal3731 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.