keyboard problem - dell inspiron 4150 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2005, 03:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default keyboard problem - dell inspiron 4150

Hi group,

I have a most annoying problem with my keyboard. At various times, different sets of keys will not work on my keyboard. Right now, the "2" "w" "s" and "x" keys do not work on my keyboard. Previously, it was some keys on the right side of the keyboard. ( I have to cut/paste to get these letters or number in this message ). It seems to be an internal problem, as I bought a keyboard on ebay, and it too had the same problem.

I was having some problems with Norton Internet Security 2004, and when I up graded to 2005, my keyboard problems seemed to be fixed. However that turned out not to be the case, as I am suddenly having problems again. I have also noticed that when I have this problem, my Outlook Express seems to have difficulty sending my email messages.

Any comments or recommendations would be great!

Mike
__________________

mikesal3731 is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 06:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

get a DOS boot disk and test the keyboard in DOS or use a live cd of linux to see if the problem is OS related

edit: i have a suspicion this is being caused by a virus
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 12:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

thanks nitestick

i agree, i think i have a virus too. now, my next question to the group is, how do i get rid of this virus on my computer. I'm somewhat of a novice so going beyond my norton internet security 2005 may be difficult for me. i thought this security software would do this for me. thanks for the help folks, i really appreciate it! Mike
mikesal3731 is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 04:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

When the computer is coming up, hold F8, and you should get a menu of Windows boot options. Look for a safe mode option, and select that. After it boots and you have logged in, run your anti-virus, clean out whatever it comes up with, and restart. Hopefully that will fix it.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 02:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Init 0-

I put my computer in safe mode using F8, however, my norton antivirus would not work, any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Mike
mikesal3731 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.