AT keyboard broken, can this work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2004, 01:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Default AT keyboard broken, can this work

My AT keypoard port is broken. I have two keyboards, one AT and another PS2. I do not have a USB port but need one.

Now will this work:
I buy a USB PCI card, buy one USB to keyboard+mouse PS2 converter ( one side is USB male and the other side is Keyboard PS2 + mouse PS2) and join my PS2 mouse and PS2 keyboard there. WILL THIS SETUP WORK.

regards,
vz.
__________________

vijaysubs is offline  
Old 08-10-2004, 01:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 52
Default

That will most likely work. Just make sure all the proper drivers are present when you try this setup.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.ionmac.com/\">iOnMac.com - Apple website - Community Boards - Help us grow!</a>
<a href=\"http://www.ionmac.com/\"><img src=\"http://www.createdbyjessica.com/screenshots/80x15ionmac.jpg\"></a> GRAB YOUR iOnMac BUTTON!
Lasha is offline  
Old 08-10-2004, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Default

I may be wrong here but I guess the motherboard won't cause any problem. Is there any such case that the motherboard only accepts the keyboard to be in the AT port.

So even if I buy a keyboard PS2 PCI card (is there exists one), this should work.

regards,
vijay.
vijaysubs is offline  
Old 08-10-2004, 01:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default Re: AT keyboard broken, can this work

Quote:
Originally posted by vijaysubs
Now will this work:
I buy a USB PCI card, buy one USB to keyboard+mouse PS2 converter ( one side is USB male and the other side is Keyboard PS2 + mouse PS2) and join my PS2 mouse and PS2 keyboard there. WILL THIS SETUP WORK.

regards,
vz.
They do not make a converter that has two ports like that. (Atleast I haven't seen any on the market). However, you will find a USB to PS2 converter (single port) and that will work just fine.

You should have two PS2 connections on your motherboard anyway... one 4 your K-board and another for your mouse. Are you saying that BOTH are non-functional??
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 08-10-2004, 01:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Default

> They do not make a converter that has two ports like that. (Atleast I haven't seen any on the > market). However, you will find a USB to PS2 converter (single port) and that will work just > fine.

There exists such converters, i have seen them and was about to buy them. I just wanted to check whether they actually work in the above stated manner or not.

> You should have two PS2 connections on your motherboard anyway... one 4 your K-board > and another for your mouse. Are you saying that BOTH are non-functional??

Thats why I am buying the converter.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=5115132268

regards,
vz.
vijaysubs is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 07:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Default works after OS is loaded

I bought a USB card and USB to two PS2 ports, one for the keybd and another for the mouse.

the keyobard works but ony after the 6OS is loaded. "The keyboard not found error" occurs. I need to plugin my old AT kbd. is there any BIOS setting for the kbd to work.

regards,
vijay.
vijaysubs is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 09:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

is this like an old motherboard?
jaksback is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 10:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Default yes, got an old mobo

http://www.expression.com.sg/810dtc1.htm

this is my mobo.

I have never before updated a BIOS, I've heard that its a little bit unsafe.


What i have done till now:
installed the usb card, inserted the usb to ps2 (mouse+kbd) and inserted the kbd in the ps2 port. this shows me the keyboard not found error when the computer is powered on. my AT port is on the verge of dying so i gently inserted the AT kbd I got and its fine after this. so after the OS is loaded, both the kbds work (and can work simultaneously).

regards,
vijay.
vijaysubs is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 02:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
Send a message via AIM to Toshiro Send a message via Yahoo to Toshiro
Default

yeah that's an old motherboard...

I'm sure there are many members here who would tell you to get a new one.
__________________
Make: eMachines
OS: WinXP Pro
Mobo: Gigabyte 8VM533M-RZ
CPU: 2.2GHz Intel Celeron
Vid: Gigabyte NVidia MX 4000 (128 MB DDR, TV out)
Sound: onboard
RAM: 512MB DDR
HD: 40GB (1:3 partitioned), 34GB
Drives: DVD R/RW and 16x DVD-ROM
Browser: FireFox
ISP: AT&T/SBC Yahoo! DSL
Toshiro is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 09:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

there are adapters for your AT plug in in the back, simple inch and a 1/2 long that adapt ps2 to AT.
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.