Just a question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2004, 03:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 125
Default Just a question

I currently have 2 PC that are running through a router. I plan on getting a Laptop. Do I have to buy a wireless router for my laptop, which comes with a wireless card? or I can buy something that I can add to my wired router that can create some wirless signal for my laptop?
__________________

Wall7486 is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 03:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

No, you do not need to buy a wireless router. There is some adapter thingy that connects a wireless netork to a wired network. But I can't remember what it's called...
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 03:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 125
Default

Does anyone know what the adapter that Regulus mentioned is call?
__________________
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Lian-Li G70B
Core 2 Duo E6400@3.3ghz
2GB Mushkin Redline XP-8000
150GB Raptor
Hitachi 160GB Desktar
NEC 3520A
eVGA 7900GT Signature Series
Dell 2007FP WUXGA
Wall7486 is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 03:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 133
Default

I haven't seen a wired to wireless adapter but I'm sure someone has made one. Just keep in mind that whatever you buy had better have encryption and wireless security otherwise you are opening up your network to the world!

Sorry if this bit of info is redundant...
Blueman is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 03:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

I believe that this is what you are looking for, Wall7486:

http://www.officemax.com/max/solutio...seBVCookie=yes

It's one of those, I know. Look at the diagram at the bottom to see how they work.
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 03:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

aah... the laptop prolly comes with a built in ethernet adapter, so u can just plug it in to your router with the rest of your comps.
jolancer is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 03:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

But he said it was a wireless card in the laptop...I don't think those come with ethernet adapters in them.
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.