Just a Memory Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2004, 02:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 18
Arrow Just a Memory Question

Ok. i know that this motherboard (dell) takes RDRam PC800 memory(its my friends). But i got a 2 256 modules of RDRam PC 1066 laying around and i want to see if it will take it.

i know (or i think i know) that i cant not have the PC 800 in at teh same time as the PC1066 but if i took the PC800 out and put in the PC1066, what would happen if it the motherboard doesnt accept it?

i want to see if it will work, but if it doesnt take it, whats teh worst that would happen?

would the memory just act like PC800 instead of 1066?

Please respond >.>
__________________

MiGiT128 is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 02:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

That would be fine,,, I have a Dell of the same age,, RDR ram,, that model was only in for a year,, and the cost of RDR ram ,, is MUCHO GRANDE!!

swap it out,, the most that will happen is that the BIOS will give you an imcomatible ram message,,

good luck,, and lucky you for having that !
__________________

__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 02:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

I'm not the best pro ever, but anyway, I did many expierements on p1, celleron, p3. I tried many combinations with memory. however, the memory is works at the speed of the FSB (Front Serial Bus) of your CPU or lower (I've never heard memory runs faster than FSB). So, if your FSB is 800Mhz, so your memory, either the 800 one and 1066 one will both work at 800.

I don't think you will have any problems. Just connect it properly to slot.

If you had had another stick slower (PC400 or PC133 for example), so it will be a problem.

And if the memory from any reason is not compatible with your mobo, so your comp just will not boot (even BIOS) untill you remove wrong stick.


If anyone dissagree with me, tell.
__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 02:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

Yeah, you are really lucky to have that!!!
__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 03:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 161
Default

By the way FSB stand for Front Side Bus
Cherubimon_3.20 is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 03:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

Oh, sure, right... Just a mistake.
__________________

__________________
smartech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.