Just A Lil Question.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2004, 05:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12
Cool Just A Lil Question..

well.. hi everyone, im new here, and i'd like to say thank you tech forums, a lot of stuff has helped me on here..

well anyways, i have a computer with the specs of: Intel (R) Celeron (R) CPU 2.20 GHZ 2.20GHZ. 256 MB of Ram, It has windows XP and Service Pack 2... I was just wondering if anyone here knew what i should do to make it a "gaming" computer. The motherboard is all integrated.. And i want a video card.. I know i need a PCI slot... but im not sure how to check.. Any other upgrades you would recommend? Im not willing to spend more than 100 bux.... im a broke *** lol, thanks for your help.
__________________

Asdfman is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 05:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Every motherboard has a PCI Slot...which sucks for graphics cards. You want to check and make sure (which I'm pretty sure you'll have it) that you have an AGP slot which is generally off centered of the PCI slots and is generally a different color. Usually brown, but now-a-days it depends on the motherboard manufacturer because I've noticed blue and red AGP slots too.

$100 won't get you much but no doubt it'll still get you a card that performs far better than your current onboard.

Still won't be anywhere near a 'gaming' computer though

EDIT: Also you should really look into more RAM. 512MB is basically the standard now and even that is getting kind of so-so as far as memory needs go.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 05:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

yeah man al u need is more ram prob another 256 and a video card to get alot better performance in games.
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 05:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12
Default

thanks a bunch
Asdfman is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 05:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12
Default o yeah..

my buddy that is in college and knows a **** load about computers said that since my mobo is integrated.. i need a PCI slot... and a PCI Vid Card....
Asdfman is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 05:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12
Default

is there a way to install ram? how would you do that? and what would u recommend? i have like 100 bux lol
Asdfman is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 05:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 36
Default

well, $100 isnt going to get you both the ram and the card. And mobo's with integrated video CAN (and most likely do) have AGP slots.

Yes there is a way to install ram. you simply put it in the slot. You said you have 256mb now, you probably have 2 ram slots on your board. youll hafta check to see whether you have 1 stick of 256mb or 2 sticks of 128mb. if you have 1 stick of 256 and 1 empty ram slot, then you'll just hafta buy another stick of 256mb and put it in the empty slot. However, if you have 2 sticks of 128mb, youll hafta take them out and upgrade accordingly (ie. 2 sticks of 256mb or 1 stick of 512mb)
rasputeena is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 05:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
my buddy that is in college and knows a **** load about computers said that since my mobo is integrated.. i need a PCI slot... and a PCI Vid Card....
Hate to tell you but your buddy must have not paid attention very well in class. Having integrated graphics plays NO part whatsoever in determining whether you need a PCI or AGP based graphics card...so I'd say he doesn't know as much about computers as you might think.
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 07:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to sniper234
Default

if you dont got a AGP slot then theres not much video cards that'll handle new games O_o AGP and PCI-E is the best cards at the moment
__________________

sniper234 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.