Just finished building...possible problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2004, 01:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 9
Default Just finished building...possible problem

I just finished putting together my new comp.
P4 3.0
Intel D865PERLX MB
512MB Hyperam PC3200
80GB Maxtor SATA HD
Enermax ATX 12V ver 1.3 PS

I turned it onto check that everything was running okay before i went to actually Start to laod the OS. IT powered on for about 30-45 seconds and then shut down. I tried Cycling the PS about 5 or 6 times, but still nothing. Not even the green light on the MB. Does this sound like a Bad Powersupply? Or is there something else I am missing?
__________________

jreece2475 is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 01:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default

oooh....could be anything....but my best guess would be the power supply
__________________

oblivion is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 01:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 193
Default

was the heatsink securely fitted with thermal paste?
If the motherboard light is not coming on, you will want to test the powersupply. In order to do this unplug it from the motherboard.

If you do not know already there is a way to test the power supply without plugging into the motherboard. Bend a paper clip or something metalin order to connect two pins in the motherboard connector from your power supply. The pins you need to contact are in this site

http://www.duxcw.com/faq/ps/ps1.htm

if the PSU doesn't turn on and you are touchign the right pins then you fried your PSU.
__________________
Before posting ask your question here:
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.google.com/search\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"q\" size=\"5\" maxlength=\"255\" style=\"width:200px;\" /><input type=\"submit\" name=\"ask\" value=\"Ask\" style=\"width:40px\" />
</form>
modemide is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 01:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default

oooh...that would suck
oblivion is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 01:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 193
Default

better the power supply rather than mobo or even worse .. CPU ... I'd gladly give up a PSU in place of my CPU :-)
__________________
Before posting ask your question here:
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.google.com/search\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"q\" size=\"5\" maxlength=\"255\" style=\"width:200px;\" /><input type=\"submit\" name=\"ask\" value=\"Ask\" style=\"width:40px\" />
</form>
modemide is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 08:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 43
Default

Maybe you put a PS in there without enough juice?

Whats the wattage?
__________________
Awww Damn it!!! My computer is on fire again
NCISAGENT is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 08:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NCISAGENT
Maybe you put a PS in there without enough juice?

Whats the wattage?

That is exactly what I was thinking about.....

Try booting your system with the HDD and Floppy only (Unplug the CD-Rom and any other drives you might have) and give it a shot to see if it powers up.

I had this happen to me once, I still can't really explain it. I wound up getting another PSU and still nothing, I got another Mobo and it worked. A little while after the fiasco...I tried my original Mobo and my original PSU and the son of a gun worked...

So weird.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 10:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 9
Default

I am now thinking it is either the MB or powersupply. The Power supply is one of those Enermax ones that automatically adjust depending on what the system is drawing (anywhere from 280w-540w) so It should be more than enough. Anyone have any experiance with these? I also read that it has a saftey shutoff to where if it finds a short anywhere in the system it will shut itself off and not come back on untill the problem is fixed. Even though I would think that Unplugging it from the wall and turning the switch on/of a few times to cycly it would have fixed that, but maybe I am wrong.

What experiances has everyone have with Intel Motherboards? I have read good and bad. From most of what I read though, this is the most likley problem.

The good news is all of the parts are new, so I shouldn;t have any problems getting them swapped out once I pin down the problem. I am going to start out like HoLoCroN suggested and actually upplug eveything except the lead to the Motherboard and Processor fan and see what happens. I also have a 400W PS from my older system that I may try to hook up to this one just to see what happens. Gotta wait till I get home from work though 8(

If anyone else has any suggestions please feel free to post them. I am open to trying just about anything.
jreece2475 is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 10:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

maybe the mobo or BIOS is already "schidtted" itself and does not know how to power on anymore
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 12:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 9
Default

I just had a thought. Could a lose pin on one of the power connectors for one of my fans cause this problem? When I has hooking every thing up i noticed on of the pins was lose and pushed it back in. If that had come lose again with the vibrations of the fans when I turned it on, could this have cause a short and forced My power supply to shut itself down. As I understand it, any short in the system will prevent power for getting to the entier system (hence no indicator light on the MB) . does this sound right?
__________________

jreece2475 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.