JBOD Hard Drive Array - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2005, 11:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
Question JBOD Hard Drive Array

I built my first PC with an 80 GB hard drive. It is now full of games, video, and music. Can I install an additional hard drive now without wiping everything on the first drive? If so, how? This is a JBOD array, right?

Athlon 64 3400+
1024 MB DDR
80 GB Hard Drive
WinXP SP2

For additional info, please contact me at android325@yahoo.com.
Thanks!
__________________

android325 is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 11:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

yea u can add another hard drive no problem. just set it to secondary if its IDE. and ur set. a JBOD is just settin multiple drives of any size to read it as one. it doesnt give any proformance increases. (Just a Bunch of Old Disks)
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 01:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Is that what JBOD really stands for?

Man, there are some acronyms, that are just hilarious that they are realy.

POTS, for example: Plain Old Telephone System. It is an accpeted term in the indrstry! acronyms are usually technical and very difficult to understand.
Him is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 01:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
(Just a Bunch of Old Disks)
It doesn't have the "Old" in there
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 01:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

damn, that is hilarious. I want a JBOD, just so I can say that I have "Just a Bunch Of Disks" in my computer, and be using the exact term for it.

BTW: Idiotec, your avatar is quite menacing.
Him is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 02:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
BTW: Idiotec, your avatar is quite menacing.
LOL, in what way? Don't here that word much outside of comic books and Japanese Anime
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 02:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Just look at it man. It's like something out of a nighmare. Seriously, imagine yourself going into a dark room, and turning on the light, only to see that looking at you. I would sh!t myself!

i just realized it blinked... Holy crap. I jumped, I certainly wasnt expecting that.
Him is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 02:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

lol....
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 02:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

I really dig your rig, you build it? I would hope so, I would have to not like you anymore if you bought it stock.

how much did that setup cost you, approx? Was it easy to OC? Do you think you could easily take your OC higher?
Him is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 02:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Him
I really dig your rig, you build it? I would hope so, I would have to not like you anymore if you bought it stock.

how much did that setup cost you, approx? Was it easy to OC? Do you think you could easily take your OC higher?
Thanks, yeah I built it.

It was about $1700 for just the box, then another $600 for the monitor.

It has OC'd well IMO, but I am stuck with stock cooling right now. I have bumped it all the way to 4.1GHz prime stable, but it gets hot. I am going to upgrade the cooling at some point, but right now I run it at the 3.7Ghz, 1:1 RAM 24/7 and it is a pretty big boost on performance.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.